Computer doesn't want to overclock my E6300.. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2007, 08:07 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mesa
are you using the easy made to OC in easytune 5 or advanced mode? beacuse when u oc in the easy it will only let you get to about 2.2 because your MHz FSB is set at stock 266 MHz. The easy mode will only take you to about 320 fsb. If you go into your Advance mode you set your CPU FSB to much higher rate. 429 fsb = 3.0 Mhz. And you not worried about temps? 50c? @ 2.2 ghz? ummm i would be you go any higher you will hit 60c very quick and thats not good. a $45 part will save you 20c, also get arctic silver 5 thermal compound.
I'm using advanced mode and I know quite a bit about computers, I recently switched from computer engineering to the IT field because I suck at math.

Anyway, no, I'm not even close to being worried about 49º at 2.275. Even if it maxed at 60 it wouldn't bother me that much. Chips can handle 60º, now if it was 70º we would have a problem. And I have AS5 applied already, also on my north bridge since they do a crappy job with that.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 08:12 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KingAustin
I'm using advanced mode and I know quite a bit about computers, I recently switched from computer engineering to the IT field because I suck at math.

Anyway, no, I'm not even close to being worried about 49º at 2.275. Even if it maxed at 60 it wouldn't bother me that much. Chips can handle 60º, now if it was 70º we would have a problem. And I have AS5 applied already, also on my north bridge since they do a crappy job with that.
just trying to help :/ ...... since you are so smart ill let you figure it out. Oh btw read my settings below...ive done what you are trying to do with the same mobo and chip. Good luck.
__________________

mesa is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 08:21 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

I honestly wouldn't be worried about an aftermarket cooler until past 3.1ghz+ (That's my threshold for having to increase CPU Voltages)
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 08:22 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mesa
just trying to help :/ ...... since you are so smart ill let you figure it out. Oh btw read my settings below...ive done what you are trying to do with the same mobo and chip. Good luck.
I wasn't trying to be an ***, was just stating something. I know how to OC too, but for some reason it just doesn't want to do it in the BIOS. It might have something to do with being in one of the first batches of DS3's made. I helped my friend get the same setup as ours running at 2.9
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 08:27 PM   #25 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i didnt drop 20c with as5. more like 8-10. maybe its just me, tho.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 09:37 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evergreen
I honestly wouldn't be worried about an aftermarket cooler until past 3.1ghz+ (That's my threshold for having to increase CPU Voltages)
Wait a minute, you exceeded 3.1 w/out a vcore mod?
__________________
Intel C2D E6300 @3.00 Ghz
Asus P5B-E
Antec Nine Hundred
HiPer 580 PSU
evga 8800 GTS 320 MB
G. Skill 2 GB DDR2 860
Seagate 250 GB sata 2 HD
Chimei 22\" Widescreen LCD
leje0306 is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 10:17 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by leje0306
Wait a minute, you exceeded 3.1 w/out a vcore mod?
I can get to 3.1 Ghz without upping my voltage

Only voltage increases are +.2 on the RAM, Running at 4-4-3-9
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 11:51 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Default

Anyone else reading this....?
__________________
Intel C2D E6300 @3.00 Ghz
Asus P5B-E
Antec Nine Hundred
HiPer 580 PSU
evga 8800 GTS 320 MB
G. Skill 2 GB DDR2 860
Seagate 250 GB sata 2 HD
Chimei 22\" Widescreen LCD
leje0306 is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 12:51 AM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

This is what i'm currently running at.

http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/945...readingas7.png

Unsure as to why you're skeptical.
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 08:47 AM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Default

How the F*&($? I had to do a volt mod to go beyond 2.33 GHz on my 6300(of course I don't really know what I'm doin:-)). What are your temps?
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6300 @3.00 Ghz
Asus P5B-E
Antec Nine Hundred
HiPer 580 PSU
evga 8800 GTS 320 MB
G. Skill 2 GB DDR2 860
Seagate 250 GB sata 2 HD
Chimei 22\" Widescreen LCD
leje0306 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.