Computer CPU monitoring recommendations by me. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2006, 03:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default Computer CPU monitoring recommendations by me.

Hey guys, here are a few programs that I had never heard of before, but now use every day. They are absolutely fantastic!

Core Temp Beta .93

This program Rocks. It works for Core, Core2Duo, and K8 (Newer AMD processors), and monitors the CPU temperature in a clear, easy to read, no BS presentation. It also records the temperature to a txt file, and you can minimize it to run it in the background so that you can monitor your CPU under load and at idle, easily. I definitely recommend it, and you can get it HERE

Then, there is another great program that I easily can reccomend to anyone, It is a cpu monitoring application very similar to CPU-Z, but has overclocking options within windows, in a very simple to understand manner. You can get it HERE

Hope these help other people, I accidentally found them on Google, and they are just fantastic, and use very little memory.

Dex
__________________

__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 10:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Fairly simple but good find none the less.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 02:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

The whole point IS that they are fairly simple. It reads the temperature right from the processor core, so its 100 percent accurate (unlike my bios' reading).
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well there's only one physical temperature probe in the core or on the motherboard so unless the program is decoding the info sent from that probe in a different way there should be no difference.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 03:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

My mobo is reading 62C with a aftermarket cooler, and this program is reading 33C. I think its just a good program for people who want an easy way to test temps within windows, without having to go into their bios.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 03:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrmm this program is telling me the same as SIV, only SIV has way more option to look through... but as already said, simple but gets the job done
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 05:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

I vouch for Core Temp. Works wonderfully on my E6300 (38-40°C idle, 45-50°C load). I'd compare with MotherboarMonitor but my mobo isn't supported.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 01:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default

lol. i get core temp of 50C while everest and speedfan both show 37C
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 02:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

What kind of processor are you using? Core temp only works for Core2Duo or K8 processors.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 03:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default

is this only for conroe, core2duo, and k8?
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.