Computer Case Fan Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Which of the two should i get?
Radeon 9600 Pro 0 0%
Radeon 9600 XT 13 100.00%
Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2004, 09:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Question Computer Case Fan Question

I just recently started building myself a system. It was my first one, and i probablly chose some wrong stuff, but oh well... here is my system config:

P4 2.8GHz at 533MHz FSB w/ 512 KB cache
512MB DDR PC2700 RAM
160GB 7200RPM WD hardrive w/ 8.9ms seektime
Soyo Dragon ATX Case
P4X400 Platinum Soyo Dragon Motherboard (garbage if you ask me)
128MB AGP GeForce PNY nVidia video card
400W neon lighted Power Supply

Now the case came with the mobo and the power supply, cuz i bought it cheap (100 bucks plus s&h and taxes). And the case has no manual watsoever. It came with a manual for the motherboard, but 1. i doubt it has the info i need and 2. i'm too lazy to look it up. So I ask you for your help

This case has a clear side panel w/ a 90mm fan in it. It's one of them screwless mounts. Anyways, when it came to putting all the pieces together, all I could figure out I should do was plug one of the power supplies to the fan ending (which has two ends to it, one that fit the power supply output and one that was just weird, and I know you know better than me wat that is). Now, after I got the damn thing to work (it took me about half an hour of sweating nails in the belief that i fried something before i realized the powerswitch (up front) was not connected to the motherboard) the fan worked right, pulling the air in, and all of that.

Now the problem that arose is that it's WAY too loud. Now i dunno if it's the mount or wat, but I was wondering if it is possible to control it through the motherboard. I know it has a couple of pin connectors for "chafan1" and "chafan2" which i can only guess is the say to control/monitor them.

Now since this computer was built on a budget (from 770 bucks coming out of my pocket, 230 coming back (hopefully) in rebates, and another 110 w/ gift cards, reward zone, and shiznit like that; i should go down to $432) (by the way, tell me if it's a good deal or not plz) yeah, so I don't really wanna put in anything else unless strictly needed. (to solve this problem) (i'd probably agree to another fan, but not a control panel, one of those bay installs, as long as it's over ~$35

so if i wasn't clear enough here's the message:

i want to control the speed of the case fan so it isn't this loud. preferably through the motherboard (cuz i'm a cheapo)

Thanks you once again hope I hear back from you guys.
__________________

umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

I would look in your manual(download it) for the option to control fan voltage if its available.If you lower the voltage the slower the fans will spin the less noise they will make.I purchased 2 Enermax 120 mm fans that have the voltage control dial built into them , they were like $15 a piece.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

so what model is the video card lol..
Demalii is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 03:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

the one thing you could have done better on is the speed of the memory. you would have been much better of with pc3200.
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 05:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 104
Default

How much was it????
__________________
Super Lan Boy
AMD XP 2800 (Barton Core)
1024mb Kingston 3200 RAM
Gainward Ti 4800 128mb
120Gig HD 7200rpm SATA 150 8meg
40Gig HD 7200rpm ata 100 8meg Buff
Gigabyte K7 triton SE mobo
Black Lights with green cables
Windows Xp Home
52X24X52 CD/RW
DVD Player
450 watt psu
BIG_AIZZLE is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 12:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

well im gonna sound like a ******* but i dont want to... but uh yea. You should of gotten a ATI. the games out now have directX 9.0 and stuff. ATI cards do better then nvidia cards.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 01:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Monster00
well im gonna sound like a ******* but i dont want to... but uh yea. You should of gotten a ATI. the games out now have directX 9.0 and stuff. ATI cards do better then nvidia cards.
you know, i was thinking about getting the ati radeon 9200 for the same price i got the nvidia, 70+tax, but I just mailed the rebates yesterday w/ the proof of purchase and **** one them... so no dice.. I asked a couple of my friends and for some reason the ones taht were more "computer oriented" (:cough GEEKS cough told me to hold on to the nVidia... dunno why...

If you know best buy would accept it w/ the proof of purchase and if they can cancel the rebate, plz tell me :-D
umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 01:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Soloman02
the one thing you could have done better on is the speed of the memory. you would have been much better of with pc3200.
well yeah, no ****, pc3200 would have worked better, but remeber, this was a budget build... and i got the 512 stick for like 67 bucks... so, iunno
umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 01:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

well, a stick of mushkin 512mb pc3200 is $77 at newegg.com
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-219&depa=1
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 01:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cappy
I would look in your manual(download it) for the option to control fan voltage if its available.If you lower the voltage the slower the fans will spin the less noise they will make.I purchased 2 Enermax 120 mm fans that have the voltage control dial built into them , they were like $15 a piece.
I found the manual online here, in .pdf form... dunno how the hell to get anything of the damn thing, but maybe one of you great ppl can.
The question is not only how you control the voltage, but also how to connect the fan to the mobo (cuz it doens't have the 2/3 pin connector. I'll put up a picture of the wires in like 10 minutes.

now, the problem w/ the Enermax 120mm fans, which would be a great deal for me, is twofold. to start with, the support for the fan is only for 90mm fans; the second is that i can't get anything w/ a grill (or I can take it off later) because of the ever so gay design of the case. i'm attaching a pic. You'll understand y there.

But if there's any other fan out there that's 90mm w/ controls built in (even though I dont' see how i could access the controls), plz tell me.

THanks a bunch one again.
__________________

umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.