Computer Build Log! [And overclock once the building is done, lol] - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2006, 06:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default Computer Build Log! [And overclock once the building is done, lol]

Alright, two hours ago I recived my new DDR2 memory sticks!

In the following days im supposed to get my Gigabyte 965P-DS4 motherboard and then the E6400 Core 2 Duo, and then the X1900XT

I'll post here whenever I get another part, and the OC resaults and stuff once im done getting all the parts! hehe.

BTW Here's the memories, im in love with them!

Oh yeah and those heatsinks are just WOW! I was always sure they were just made for aesthetics, but heck they are THICK as ****! and pretty heavy too.......... [every one of those heatsinks is actually thicker than the memory itself, and theres two on each module!]

picturesssssssssssss:

Memory:











Soon mobo/vid card/psu/cpu etc..

-Jo.
20log/Picture62.jpg
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

lol... What makes the RAM "SLi Ready" ...
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

The SLi ready solely means it has the new **EPP** features, because that was made by nvidia, but stupidly enough they thought writing "SLi ready" would sound more convincing than writing "EPS Enabled" or something like that.

Uploaded better pics now, thats as good as it gets with my web cam :/ **** logitech pro zoom......

Anyway, check out the one before last pic, the left bottom corner, you see that trash can and the X on it? **** RIGHT! This does NOT fit in the garbage, haha.

-Jo
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

So what happened to you getting an AM2 system?

And whats EPS? I looked on Google and got hundreds of definitions.
The General is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 07:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Well, I was forced to forfit my cooling system, and was left with an extra 250$ which was what I was short of for the mobo and the E6400 [I was forced because my brother chickend on me and decided not to try his luck trying to go through the airport secuirity with it, go figure]..

And **EPP** Is a pre-configured overclocking profile implented into the memory, you can use it on certain motherboards, you can still overclock it manualy though if you wish, its more like an instant-overclock thing for novice overclockers.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Man I am so dissappointed My regular local store I buy at which is really cheap usualy are now out-priced by competitor shops and they won't lower their price to match the other stores price, and I already placed the order [90% of it was supposed to come tomorrow] but my dad decided to cancel it untill they lower their prices too, I hope tomorrow I'll be able to talk the manager to giving me some discount [since im paying it all in cash maybe he'll agree]

I was really thrilled to get it all to work tomorrow... now i'll have to wait till at leat thursday.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 02:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

w00t everything but the PSU has arrived today! *Does a little dance*

Shall I post pictures or will it just be pointless and hog too much size?

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 02:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Post pictures.
The General is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 02:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

AH FOK! I ADDED ALL TEH PICS AND THE SITE REJECTED MY POST..

ok re-writing it.

E6400 Box:


E6400 out of box:


mobo box front:

mobo box back:


mobo bundle [forgot to take it outta the antistatic bag, tomorrow I will]:


more pics in next post.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 02:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

GPU Box:


Card itself:


And god knows why, but I recived a DFI wrist band, which is pretty cool!:



Anyway, tomorrow im getting the PSU and i'll put pics of it too.

I just hope the new PC won't be bottlenecked by my old 80GB IDE HDD [Im not sure how much RPM it has even, 5200 or 7200, how do I check?!?!], but next week in getting new SATA II 160 W.D. caviar HDD.

Oh and the store manager was really nice, gave me an AC MX-1 thermal compound [the none-adhersive, silicon based compound which is better than the regular MX-1, a bit less better than AC Silver 5 but he didnt have it there anyway so I can't do nuttin about it] AND he also gave ma a vantec thermal compound which I won't be using but still he was like "Take it anyway, I got lots here so whatever!" lol.

Nice guy..

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.