Completely stumped - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2004, 12:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Bohica
Question Completely stumped

Hello everyone! i have an odd problem that i have been trying to figure out for a month straight. My system

p4 2.8c 800 fsb
asus p4p800 deluxe
2: 256 corsair xms 3200
powercolor readon 9800 pro 128
soundblaster audigy 2 platnium
maxtor 120g 8mb cache
Windows xp

i thought that i would get very good performance and finnally get the computer i've always wanted. But it doesnt seem to be putting out as much as it should. In 3dmark03 im getting 5607, which seems ubsurdly low, and in ut 2003 benchmarks, flyby:208 botmatch:66. In most of my games i get constant studders, no matter what the settings, i am completely stumped. i have fooled around with over clocking(runing my cpu at 3.08 right now) i have messed with ddr timings in the bios. i have messed with xp all that i could to my knowledge, pagefile, system cache, ect. i would apreciate any help or ideas you guys can come up with. THANX IN ADVANCE!
__________________

Bohica is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 12:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

maybe you are not getting enough power. what is the power supply? you need a hefty one at least 450watt with that monster video card. don't get the cheap 450watts like allied brands, they are rebadged deer POS.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 12:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Bohica
Default

oh my god..... i always thought i had a 450watt, but until you mentioned that, i just checked, im only running with 320. thank you very much man. now that i think about it that has been my prob since my first p4.
Bohica is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 02:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Bohica
Default still running slow

well i was going to get a new power supply, but i was looking around new egg and just bought a thermaltake case(bad *** case but very heavy and big) with a 420watt powersupply. i hooked it all up and got it running and i have no change at all. could it be because i didnt reinstall xp? I dont have service pack one installed could that make a difference? i have updated all my driver to the latest ones. any advice will be apreciated
Bohica is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 02:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

yes it could, If I where you I would re-install xp and put the latest drivers on.
5607 isn't that bad on 3dMark2003 (make sure you have the latest build) i'm not sure about the ut stuff cause I havnt ever run that benchmark.
What temp is your cpu at? If it gets too hot it will slow down so check temp and correct fitting of heatsink / fan.
__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 05:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Bohica
Default no go

i have reinstalled and still have not seen any difference. i have now it has to do with my cpu, i get the same problems in my games no matter what the graphical or sound settings are at. could it be the fact that i dont have service pack 1 installed. you see i can not install it unless i use atomatic updates, and i only have crappy aol dialup.(my xp is one that you dont have to register online, so when i try to run the service pack 1 offline installation it tells me that my registration key is not valid. witch sucks.
Bohica is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

http://www20.tomshardware.com/cpu/20...escott-13.html

Your 3d mark 03 score isnt really that bad but i would think you should be rock solid in any game.When you install your ATI drivers.You use all of them not a custom install and have the updated drivers from ATI and Directx9b.

You really should get Sp1 it suport's large hard drives among some other thing's.Youll just get a number to call.They just ask you why you need to reregister. Say you had a virus and had to reinstall or you got a new computer.

http://www.firegl.com/support/driver.html
__________________

Deadguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.