Compaq and Dell's crappy cooling systems. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2002, 05:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to SePhErUm Send a message via Yahoo to SePhErUm
Default Compaq and Dell's crappy cooling systems.

Ever bought a Compaq? Dell? Hp? Gateway?
If so.. Ever cracked it open?
I cracked open my old 333mhz system. and it has the crappiest cooling system.. 2 fans.. 1 in ther power supply that doesn't move any air.. and one in the front that suppose to suck in air.. but doesn't due to compaq's crappy case design in the way.

Recently my Friends 1.8 ghz p4 dell hdd burned out.. I opened it up. and Found Only 2 fans also.. One Huge one.. that sucked air from the back and blew it on the processor.. and one in the power supply..

I wonder Why his HDD "Burned out".

Back to my compaq.
The cooling system is poor.. When i took off the case.. i touched the processor heatsink which is huge.. . Also Compaq is stupid on how the designed the mobo. The processor hangs over the Northbridge.. Which has No heatsink.. and get's really hot.
I have a Slot 1 chip.. With the big heatsink and all.. And instead of being Non paralell to the mobo.. it's lays right on top of it.
Which results in my chip getting too hot.. and slowing it self down. so it will stay at the highest tempeture without burning up the silicon.
Pics of my mobo, Video card, and ram, and hdd
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled.jpg (19.1 KB, 125 views)
__________________

__________________
----------------------------------------
Brandon Cook
http://www.anarchy-industries.com
Pentium II 333MHz
96 MB Ram
Geforce 4 MX 440
2 SCSI 4GB Hdds\'
anything else?
SePhErUm is offline  
Old 11-24-2002, 05:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to SePhErUm Send a message via Yahoo to SePhErUm
Default

Mobo with chip in it
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture 008.jpg (61.9 KB, 134 views)
__________________

__________________
----------------------------------------
Brandon Cook
http://www.anarchy-industries.com
Pentium II 333MHz
96 MB Ram
Geforce 4 MX 440
2 SCSI 4GB Hdds\'
anything else?
SePhErUm is offline  
Old 11-27-2002, 12:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 90
Default

Companies such as Dell, Compaq, Gateway, etc. advertise their machines and comps that will handle everything (internet, games, office apps, etc), but when they design them, they only think that people will run DOS games and notepad. My dad has a compaq, and we've put over 300 megs of ram into it, in hopes of speeding it up. As it turns out, Compaq's case designs limit airflow as much as possible, so half of that ram is probably fried from being too hot.
ikellen is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

What's with the pics of the speakers and the guy with the surfboard or whatever?
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 04:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default

haha, my old compaq 350 was something like that. It had no fans intake, one outtake in the back (power supply), and a steel heatsink on the chip. It was horrible and I had no idea until I upgraded to P3 933 mhz.
__________________
Current Computer Specs
Athlon XP 2200+ (266 FSB)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB Corsair PC2700 C2 Pro Series (2x512)
Thermaltake 11+ HSF
Asus GeForce 4 Ti4600 128mb
420 Antec TruePower
4x Plextor DVDRW
Soundblaster Live 5.1!
120gb Maxtor SATA 7200rpm
60gb Maxtor ATA/133 7200rpm

Currently building a new one (ETA July/August)
archon45 is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

*Looks at date stamp of the thread*

When another attachment with the exact same filename is uploaded, the 2nd attachment replaces the first.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 05:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

my mom has a compaq. I opened up 1 day cause i was bored and i wanted to clean it out.. it had 1 90MM fan in there. Thats it.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 01:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

this is why u build computers rather than buy ****y ones for twice the price
__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 03:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Yea, my HP (piece of crap) has two fans. One on the power supply and one on the huge heatsink. I can feel the heat on my case. Stupid HP.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 02:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to Borgmeister
Default

Oh man, i work in a large european computer retailer, iver seen some of the worst case desing and cheapskating ever. Have u ever heard of Emachines? If so, find a lowish end one, and open it up, now play a game of 'find the agp slot'
__________________

__________________
My \'Rig\' (how ghey does that sound?

AMD Athlon 2500+ Mobile@ 2400Mhz
1024 Mb Corsair XMS 3200 DDR RAM(the stufff with the activity LEDs)
ABIT Radeon 9550(water cooling accident)
Jeantech Butterfly V2 Easy maintainence case
Abit AN7 \"guru\" Motherboard
2x 160Gb Samsung SP160N HDD
DVD-RW
DVD-ROM
Netgear 802.11g Wireless Network/Gigabit Ethernet.

Mail me on Borgmeister(at)Gmail(dot).com for invites if you want!
Borgmeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.