Comp Restarting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2006, 12:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Default Comp Restarting

Hey whenever i overclock (adaptiver overclocking) my cpu to %17 my computer restarts and i was wondering why this happens and is it possible to fix this?

AMD +3200
Asus A8V
BFG 6200
2 gigs of ram (corsair and kingston)
__________________

NyQuil is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

auto overclocking is crap. if possible do it manually. the processor/ram is probably unstable due to overheating or lack of voltage
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

We need more info...

What frequency is your RAM running at? If it is DDR400, did you setup a RAM divider? Did you up the VCORE slightly? Did you turn down the HTT speed?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Default

sorry i dont know to much but the ram is PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory... and how do i turn the voltage up
NyQuil is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

The RAM is probally running at speeds greater than what it is meant to be running at, causing instability. You need to go into the BIOS and underclock the RAM a little bit.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Default

hey this is wat im running if u need anymore please let me know

www.freewebs.com/smokecrackinc/yo.jpg
NyQuil is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 07:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Dude drop the CPU voltage right now! That's hella high. Your going to fry your CPU at that voltage!
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 09:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Default

is that throught the bios?
NyQuil is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 10:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

there you go. thats your answer. auto overclocking is so stupid that it has put your voltage FAR above what it should be on stock cooling and consequently it is overheating
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 10:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Default

ohh i see but u lower the voltage in the bios right? and wat should it be at?
__________________

NyQuil is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.