Cold cathodes exploding - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default Cold cathodes exploding

hey guys,

I just bought some cold cathodes for my soprano case. I have heard that they can explode and totally frick up your system. I dont what this crap happening to me. Should I be worried?

I have a sweet *** antec PSU so voltage fluctutations should be a problem.

Please make me feel better.
__________________

algu7344 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

chances are very slim, I wouldn't worry about it
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 07:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

PH34R TEH CATHODE TUBES!!!

Don't know about exploding, but I have heard they have a much higher potential for catching fire
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 08:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

Anybody else? I need some comfort!
algu7344 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

YOUR DOOMED! hope this helps
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 09:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Mine did explode, but there was a thick heavy tube around the glass one that kept it from going all over...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 09:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

PoisonPorkChop your an idiot. So am I pretty safe? And when people say explode, does it really explode? or just like crack or what.
algu7344 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 09:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Mine just had a small pop, and a crack going down the tube...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah algu, doubt it'd mean like literally explode to where it fragmented crap in your case. Probably would just be like charles said

But i have heard because of the little convertor box most use that it can be more of a fire hazard
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

If they are sleeved, you're covered. The sleeve contains the shards.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.