Cold Cathode help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2005, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 17
Question Cold Cathode help

Hello,
I have a few questions about Cold Cathodes for those that have used them.
I am interested in using cold cathodes in a lighting project I am working on (not in a PC), but I have never used them before. I know they are common in pc cases, scanners, photocopiers and I think they are also used on cars under the body for lighting effects.

I want to use 8 Cathode bulbs all run off of 1 PC power supply.

I’m not sure if that is too many bulbs or what size PS I would need. From looking on the net I have come across Cold-Cathode-Kits but the prices are quite expensive and the most bulbs that can be run off of one power supply (not PC) seems to be 3. Like this site:»www.elwirecheap.com/coldcathodes.html

From what I understand, I cannot change the length of wire from the bulb to the inverter, but I CAN change the Length of wire from the Power supply to the Inverter using 22 gauge wire. Also the cold cathodes are designed for 12vDC but can be run directly from an AC adapter power source (?)

This is what I think I need:
four 24" cathode bulbs with inverter (white)

four 12" cathode bulbs with inverter (white)

Power to cathode cable ?TYPE?

Power splitters ?AMOUNT?

Computer Power Supply ?SIZE?

Anyways, any help is much appreciated, I just figured some members here may use these things and could have some suggestions. Thanks!
__________________

Junorion is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 04:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

Yes it should work.
__________________

PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i think you have enough 4 pin connectors on your psu. and it should work
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.