clueless - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2004, 02:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 53
Default clueless

hey ppl

i was just wondering wat
"single channel mode" means
when i boot up my comp. i think its
got sumfin 2 do wit my ram. i got 2
sticks of pc2700 256mb ram, so
shouldnt it be running in dual channel mode?
im just curious.....

thanx!
__________________

newbie88 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Dual channel means double the bandwidth over single channel, which is better for gaming. If you have dual channel memory, you will want to enable it.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

bacisally what dual and single channel is, well let me give u a example. say if u have a 5 lane highway compared to a 3 lane.. the 5 lane will let more cars through at the same time then the 3 lane. Its the same thing with dual channel. It lets you open more programs at once and all that other stuff. But i mean if ur like a hardcore gamer or if u are running a lot of programs at once or having like 2 or 3 games running at once.. then i would not get it.. it would be a waste of money.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 03:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 53
Default

k kewl thanx!

newbie88 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 03:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

In order for dual channel to be operational, you have to have 2 slots of identical RAM in the proper location on your MOBO. Refer to your manual or to the manufacturer's site then install your sticks in the right slots. Although in theory it doubles the bandwidth, the actual effect is a 10-15% increase in performance which is not bad.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 12:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

they should be blue i think..
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 08:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 53
Default

LoL!

I just found out that my mobo
doesnt support "dual channel mode"
but hey....i still learnt sumfin.

thanx dudes!
newbie88 is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 12:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

lol np
__________________

__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.