Closed water cooling loop? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2008, 05:53 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Closed water cooling loop?

You want the T line right before the pump and basically just inject water into the system. I have a big syringe that i use, it looks like a big turkey baster. This would allow you to somewhat pressurize the system. Personally i prefer using a reservoir just for ease of bleeding. /lazy
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 05:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Closed water cooling loop?

install a bleed valve at the gravity bottom of the pump line to drain the system anytime you want to load it in the car.
__________________

__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 06:04 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default Re: Closed water cooling loop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuaziBee View Post
install a bleed valve at the gravity bottom of the pump line to drain the system anytime you want to load it in the car.
Why would I want to drain/refill it everytime I move it? I move it 3+ times per week.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 06:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Closed water cooling loop?

ewww, didn't realize. honestly, air's where it's at.
I use a tuniq tower aswell. its simply pimp sauce.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 07:08 PM   #25 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Closed water cooling loop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuaziBee View Post
install a bleed valve at the gravity bottom of the pump line to drain the system anytime you want to load it in the car.
Right because that's practical...

Like I said, fill the t-line up to the top and at most you'll get like a marbles amount of air in the loop which will take about 5 minutes to work it's way out.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 09:20 PM   #26 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Closed water cooling loop?

yeah... aspire's right... just get a filling syringe (about $3) and fill the T-line as close to the top as you possibly can and then cap it tight... you'll get maybe half a mL of air in there, and that'll just sit in the T-line
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 09:20 AM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Closed water cooling loop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
Right because that's practical...

Like I said, fill the t-line up to the top and at most you'll get like a marbles amount of air in the loop which will take about 5 minutes to work it's way out.
I hate to tread on the guru's ground but a dry system is a safe system when he has to transport it that much.

another option, for using a reservoir, is to use shutoff valves on either side. No air can flood the lines if there's no way for it to get in.

Or, you could do it his way. Which could be just as easy if not easier and just as effective.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 10:53 AM   #28 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Closed water cooling loop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuaziBee View Post
I hate to tread on the guru's ground but a dry system is a safe system when he has to transport it that much.

another option, for using a reservoir, is to use shutoff valves on either side. No air can flood the lines if there's no way for it to get in.

Or, you could do it his way. Which could be just as easy if not easier and just as effective.
My rig has gone with me to a good 20 lans and I've never had a problem getting there, plugging it in, and playing games right off the bat. Heck me and my friend drove 8 hours to Ontario CA for a lan with my computer upsidown behind the passenger seat because we were crammed inside his MR2 which didn't have a back seat. And my rig has an externally mounted radiator.

Water cooling loops are easily safer to transport than certain air cooled setups...

Tuniq Tower anyone?

The problem with draining a loop before you move it is the time required to fill it. With a reservoir it isn't bad, but with a t-line it becomes an arduous task and can take more than an hour.

Shutoff valves are incredibly restrictive, read, bad for water cooling loops.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTS: Water cooling loop braz Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 10-25-2008 01:17 PM
How much more could I OC with Water cooling ? illnastyimpreza Overclocking and Modding 8 06-10-2008 11:28 PM
Nice price on another Asetek water cooling loop aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 10 12-15-2007 10:20 PM
Great price on a mid range water cooling loop. aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 12-01-2007 09:29 PM
Cool looking Gigabyte water cooling case Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-14-2007 06:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.