Choppy Graphics - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2006, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to x_gryphon_x
Default Choppy Graphics

I recently bought Counter Strike Source. I bought it because I wanted Day of Defeat Source that came with it. It runs very choppy when I have the graphics all the way down to low. This is what I have.

Intel Celeron 1.7Ghz
MSI Nvidia GeForce 5500FX 256MB AGP8x
ASUS P4S8X-X Motherboard
1024 MB of Ram

Why is it so choppy and what can I do to make it better?

x_gryphon_x is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044

My computer has similar specs to yours except I have a P4 1.8ghz, and it runs CS source fine. Maybe it's the processor?



b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

You need a better CPU and Graphics card.

Try to find a cheap used P4 and upgrade you graphics w/ a used 6600GT AGP or something simular.
turtile is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
lancec2c30's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30

well with the res. all the way down? anyway it is your cpu. get a P4 with like 2.6ghz or somethin.

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793

get a better CPU deffinetly, you've got a crap load of RAM to use so that shouldnt efect it unless its bad, regarding the Graphics Card, i would set it to DX7 mode instead of DX9 BUT, if you can get ahold of a used (or new) 6600GT it will run alot better

\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 01:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to x_gryphon_x

Thanks for the advice. I was actually going to a motherboard and processor bundle. I love AMD so I found that and a Gigabyte m/b for like 115 dollars. And yeah. I need a better grafix card. Thanks again.


x_gryphon_x is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.