chipsets - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2004, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default chipsets

hey i jus noticed that most of the high end boards had the intel 875P chipset and i wondered wut a chipset is. They seem to be a fairly important part if theyre going to effect the price a fair bit.
So yea, thats my question wut is a chipset and how important is having a good one?
__________________

__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

i think a chip set afects how smothly and fastly ever thing performs...that's my guess.
__________________

compy is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

o lol i thought every1 knew bout this cept me : ) Good to know other ppl have my prob too lol.
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 10:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

hehehe, yeah...i'll look up google.
compy is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 12:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Get the VIA chipset. I've heard excelent things about it. Nvidia is good also.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

The chipset is what sets the FSB, a lower end board might have the 850 chipset which has an fsb of 400MHz, the 875P chipset has an 800MHz FSB but can work with a 400MHZ or 533MHZ FSB CPU. Also I think it has to do with the agp interface like the 850 set has AGP 4X and he 875P has AGP 8X or AGP 8X Pro. The newest chipset for intel which uses socket Lga775 has a 915P,915G, or 925X chipset. these allow the mobo to have things like PCI Express 16X,PCI Express 1X, and DDR2.
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 02:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

o thnx
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

The chipset in so many words is the CPU's *****.

Processor : "Get me some ICED TEA !!!"
Chipset : "Okaaaaay Masta !"
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 06:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Googled this **** up.

Quote:
The chipset controls the system and its capabilities. All components communicate with the processor through the chipset - it is the hub of all data transfer. The chipset uses the DMA controller and the bus controller to organize the steady flow of data that it controls. The chipset is a series of chips attached directly to the motherboard, and is usually second in size only to the processor. Chipsets are integrated (soldered onto the motherboard) and are not upgradeable without a new motherboard. The chipset is comprised of one or more electronic components that connect such mainboard components as the processor, expansion bus, and internal memory. The speed of the mainboard is determined in part by the speed of the chip set used. After all, if instructions from the processor take a long time to be communicated to an expansion card, the speed of the entire system will suffer.
Hope that helps.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 06:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

it does thnx, up till now i didnt bother looking at chipsets but i guess theyre pretty important...
__________________

__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.