Chipset Temperature - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2005, 02:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Lightbulb Chipset Temperature

Not sure where this goes, anyway I doubt it matters much.

Sometimes my pc beeps, it has always done that, I check the temperatures and everything looks good. But today I heard the beep while playing WoW, so I checked my temps and my chipset was at 51, and it was in red numbers. Just wondering the temp range of a chipset and what is considered safe. It's nf4 chipset, dfi lan party ultra d motherboard. I'm thinking of buying 1 more fan so I can put one directly on it.

It was never this hot until the winter. I know it sounds strange, but this time of year, instead of air conditioners, we use heat, duh... So thats why its so hot. It gets the hottest in my room.

The chipset fan is sucking heat from the video card too. What would happen if I reversed the fan.... if possible...

Like take the blades off and flip 'em...

Edit: Should I play games while it is at 51C?
__________________

__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 02:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

My chipset goes up to like 54C and its fine. You shouldnt need to worry about it. I have the same motherboard as you. Have you overclocked it? What was it like when you first got it?
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 04:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

I OCed my cpu, barely, maybe 150-200 mhz. Changed some ram timings too.


It was like 32 idle and maybe 42-45 while playing battlefield 2.
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I wouldnt worry if i were you. I dont. i read that that chipset can take up to 120C :amazed: and works best under 60C. So 50C is fine.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Just wondering.... why does my pc beep?
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 05:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

It's just warning you. Possible the BIOS supports something that lets you set a certain temp where it causes the motherboard to make the speaker beep..... Then another temp for it to just cut power immediatly...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 08:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Thanks for the replies fellas.
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 08:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

No problem. Even though I didn't help
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 10:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

Tto reverse the fan all you have to do is turn it around, you dont need to take the blades out.
__________________

ferris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.