Chipset Cooler and 7800GT coolers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2006, 02:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default Chipset Cooler and 7800GT coolers

Hey guys, I need to get 2 new coolers.

1. for my Chipset

2. for my 7800gt

heres what Ive been looking at.

7800gt
OR
7800gt#2

Chipset

problem is that they sit right next to each other.


Will these fit with my MOBO set up?

Thanks, Noga
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 03:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

VF-900 and the chipset should MAYBE be fine. Im not sure exactly how big either of them are so i cant gurantee that. Also, i must have brought you on to Frozencpu or something but ill tell you, their prices are steep.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 10:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well I know the VF-700-CU wouldn't interfere with anything because it comes off the top of the card. Such as this:
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

the VF900 is pretty big, but it does the job. but it doesnt cover the whole length of the card. there is about 2" at the end of the card were it doesnt cover (i'm estimating by looking at mine )
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GuitarFreak1857
the VF900 is pretty big, but it does the job. but it doesnt cover the whole length of the card. there is about 2" at the end of the card were it doesnt cover (i'm estimating by looking at mine )
ya but look at my card, all the round things get in the way

also i know frozen cpu has bad prices I just go to them to look at cooling producs then go other places.
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i've been looking for an all copper northbridge HS but ther doesnt seem to be one. all i can find are shady aluminum ones... i dont trust aluminum for natural convection...

anyone know of an all copper HS for the northbridge chipset?
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 09:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 130
Default

well noga, i just ordered myself the vf900 for my evga 7800 gt. I will let you know how it works, But I don't think they would say a aftermarket vga cooler would work with the 7800 series if those things got in the way at the very end of the card, so i wouldnt worry about them. And with the vf900, you get chipset heatsinks with them. www.newegg.com

ill bookmark this topic so I can tell you how my vf900 does. I wont receive it until tuesday.
Travis18 is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 11:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

vf900 takes up a lil less then one pci slot so your 7800gt will take 2 slots

lol just read it so to answer your ? the vf 900 ends a half inch from the lil cylinder things lol
reckliss is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 08:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

If it is too big, just bend the spikes on the chipset cooler I saw some people do that at DFI forums because most of the video cards go right over the chipset fan
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 12:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

The one guy says it dosent take up the whole length of the card so he should enough room.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.