Cheapest overclocking 2gb RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2006, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default Cheapest overclocking 2gb RAM

ok i need to lower the price of my computer cause i still want other thing with my 1200$ so insted of buying G.SKILL extreme serier 2gb.
so could anyone mention the cheapest 2gb dual channel kit for some good overclocking?
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

There is some G-Skill value RAM at newegg selling for $148 I believe. Some people have reported very high overclocks, however quite a bit of voltage is required. How much are you willing to spend?
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

Don't get the 2GB. It will just slow your computer down. Go for 1GB of faster ram. I think using 2gb of Ram right now is like a 256mb fx5200 video card. It just doesn't make sense!
__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ace No-Money
Don't get the 2GB. It will just slow your computer down. Go for 1GB of faster ram. I think using 2gb of Ram right now is like a 256mb fx5200 video card. It just doesn't make sense!
Uh, wrong. 2GB will make your pc faster, but overclocks won't be as high.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

You're right, it won't make it slower but it will not make much of a difference unless you use your system for like CAD, or playing FEAR and DOOM 3 while buring a movie and and running PRIME 95 at the SAME TIME, lol.
__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Ace I have to disagree, if you're building a new computer now it would be good to go with 2 gb of ram. FEAR at max uses it definitly, so will BF2 and a few other games when you max them out. Future applications will definitly take advantage of 2 gb.

As for the thread starter, I dont know of any cheaper ram off the top of my head. Try searching for a price range on newegg.

You can always get value ram and try some miniman OCs, it wont be as good but itll be a lot cheaper.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

Ok I think Ace needs a good slap upside his head for being unexperienced and still talking.

If you had actually tried 2 gigs of ram and used them in the memory intensive games of today you would not have said anything close to what you did.

I had 1 gig of ram and i upgraded to 2. The difference in BF2 and FEAR is HUGE!! I realize you can play them very well with 1 gig of ram especially if you get a good gig that can OC well. You can definately get higher OCs with 1 gig of ram but if you get 2 decent gigs of ram games will play MUCH better.

Ok I think I need to go to sleep. I have been up all night and am bichy .
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

The difference in overclockability between 1GB and 2GB is decreasing. For example there is 2GB of Muskin RAM at newegg right now for $199 that is DDR500 and people are even reporting getting clocks up to 270MHz. That's really fast and I doubt you'd be able to overclock 2x512MB sticks much farther.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

Lol, ok, ok, I give up . You are definately right about the new future apps. being able to use 2GB, especially as the 64bit Windows OS becomes more popular. And I am sure games like FEAR with HIGH settings turned on use a ton of resources, but Since I am Ace "No-Money" I will not be going for 2GB for my rig anytime soon.
I do know one thing for sure, I can't wait to get my CPU heatsink in the mail so I can turn on my Athlon 3000+ machine for the first time! YEAH!
Peace!
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.