cheapest best power supply? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2005, 03:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 53
Default

Yours is probably underpowered because of the amps, not the watts. One with dual 12V or 1 12V with good amps should suffice.
__________________

kcrknp is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 03:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

Yeah, the fortron 450w source will power the setup in your sig
__________________

__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 05:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well i am aware my psu is under powered becasue of the amps, but shouldnt 25amps on my 12 volt do it?? thats what it is
burned-ati is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 05:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

More watts does not always make a better power supply. There are a few different things to take into account, a big one being the stability of the rails. If your power supply is 800w, but your 12v rail is only operating at 11v, then you have some serious problems. If you get a better brand name power supply, you shouldn't have to worry about stability. Also, you've already answered your last question. If your power supply's 12v rail is rated at 25 amps, but you're certain that your power supply is not providing enough power for your computer, then it's time to upgrade. I also seriously doubt that your Logisys power supply is actually providing the power that is advertised. The Fortron (a pretty reliable brand) that I suggested has two 12v rails, each at 18 amps. Add them together and you get a total of 36 amps, which is plenty for your system.
beardo526 is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 06:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default

Since we're on the topic of PSU's, can someone give me feedback on mine... I have been having trouble overclocking, and someone mentioned in one of my topics that I posted that it could be my PSU that's holding me back. It's in my sig. Here is a report from Everest:

Voltage Values:
CPU Core - 1.62 V
+3.3 V - 3.31 V
+12 V - 12.22 V
VBAT Battery - 3.57 V
DIMM - 2.54 V

I don't need any OCing advice, just a "yes" or "no" on if it's a good power supply.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.