Changing RAM timings same thing as changing MHZ? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2005, 07:27 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

aright, then do the manually instead of the auto overclock, personally dont trust those, but it's not like you've had bad luck thus far.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:12 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I used the Auto Overclocking feature that my board had, it gave me a good idea how far my cpu and ram could go, but i disabled that and then went a little farther and still stayed stable.....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:15 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah that's not a bad way to go about it....I just generally dislike the fact it makes large jumps sometimes opposed to simply moving it nice and slow incrementally with 5MHz movements
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 02:31 AM   #24 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Umm yeah, i did that adjustment in BIOS and put my CPU to 10% and I still get crash's in games now. I guess its just my ****ty stock cooling. I got the good thermal paste, but other than that it's just normal cooling nothign special. Though its not getting so hot, i think maybe 75 at the highest.
Thresh is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 03:06 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well it's probably because your letting your RAM be overclocked and you've tightened the timings beyond what they are stock.

As I told you a few posts earlier, tightening the cas latency and cycle time from 2.5 to 2 and from 6 to 5 will do nothing but increase instability...those two timings don't effect performance and bandwidth like the two middles numbers do...so if you're going to overclock your RAM then you need to put it at like 3-3-3-8 timings and give it around 2.8v or so
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 03:36 AM   #26 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

are you saying the higher the numbers on the timings the faster it is?
Thresh is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 04:10 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
are you saying the higher the numbers on the timings the faster it is?
No...where did you get that impression..

I said if you're overclocking you need to 'loosen' the timings because as they are, they are tighter than spec'd PLUS you're trying to overclock them..

And if you're asking a question such as that you need to be reading up on overclocking quite a bit more.

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/show...&threadid=3393

go there and scroll about 3/4 of the way down for information of the common timings and a crapload of other timings that probably won't pretain to you since your board probably doesn't have most of them.

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11397

same timings, with a little bit more information behind each of them.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 04:20 AM   #28 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Why would I go 3-3-3-8, wouldn't that slow it down? That's the impression I got.
Thresh is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 05:01 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Why would I go 3-3-3-8, wouldn't that slow it down? That's the impression I got.
I explained why.......if you're overclocking your RAM beyond PC3200 speeds, you can't leave it at the same timings muchless the fact that you said you've tightened your timings from 2.5-3-3-6 which is stock, down to 2-3-3-5....THEN I told you that the cas latency of 2 and cycle time of 5 aren't any improvement in performance.

Your RAM is currently being overclocked at tighter timings than stock, hence the crashes your getting.........if you're going to overclock your RAM, you need to loosen your timings to 3-3-3-8 and supply approx 2.8v

Either way, going from 2-3-3-5 to 3-3-3-8 would be absolutely NO difference in performance...technically yes, on the nano-scale it is slower, but you will never notice it in any kind of performance testing
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.