Changing the CPU Core Voltage - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2004, 01:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AMD 0wn4g3
no prob sorry i couldnt help ya more with the BIOS issue but im pretty sure if u look in the manual 4 ur board it will show u the correct jumper settings 4 changing voltage in BIOS...lots of luck dude
Thank you. Good night

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 02:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Have you made sure you didn't put too much or too little of thermal compound and on top of that did you make sure your heatsink is sitting correctly? Try a program like Motherboard Monitor 5 to see what kind of temp readings that gets and see if it corresponds with the BIOS temperatures. The only way to change your Vcore is in the BIOS although there are some windows based OC'ing software that I suppose might be able to change your voltage.

I don't understand why he's saying it's your Vcore simply because you have a VIA chipset board. I have both VIA and Nforce boards and it has the same vcore. Get CPU-Z and see what it reports your Vcore at although motherboard monitor 5 also reports it
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 08:33 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

What motherboard are you running on? And what voltage are you at? Stock is 1.625v for that chip i believe.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 04:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 4W4K3
What motherboard are you running on? And what voltage are you at? Stock is 1.625v for that chip i believe.
Hmm, that appears to be what voltage my core is running at right now...what could this be if it's not the voltage?

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 05:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OIDanTheManIO
Hmm, that appears to be what voltage my core is running at right now...what could this be if it's not the voltage?

-Dan The Man
like what Nubius suggested, probably too much thermal paste or you are using the thermal "pad". have you taken off HSF before and checked? If not it's definetly a pad, if so try reapplying thermal paste with a more even thinner layer. should help...

also HSF might not be making good contact. so if you JUST put thermal paste on there and still have heat problems make sure you mounted it correctly and it's making good contact.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 05:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Done and done...

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.