Change Power led from green to blue? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2007, 01:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Default Change Power led from green to blue?

Well i have a compaq and i ve been doing a little modding to it like blue led fans and what not but i have one thing that bugs me on it. The power led in front is green. To me it just throws the whole color thing off. My question is that i was wondering if i can take that green led off the harness and uses a blue led to replace it. Would it work or am i going to run into problems.?

Tips/suggestions are welcomed.

thanks steve
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Change Power led from green to blue?

It will work, if you know what you're doing. There will be no problems at all. The worst there is is that you have wrong polarity and the LED doesn't turn on.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Default Re: Change Power led from green to blue?

well i should be fine, i do wiring of leds in car and neons i know the bascis of electrical, so i guess ill give it a shot..thanks will post before and after pics
__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Change Power led from green to blue?

Sure thing. The wiring isn't too hard: two wires, colored and white.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 02:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Default Re: Change Power led from green to blue?

Green LED


New Blue LED


I think when i find more LED's im going to changed the busy/hard drive light. thanks again
__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 03:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Change Power led from green to blue?

Woah! You switched them already, so fast...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 04:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Change Power led from green to blue?

looks cool....im glad my case already has a blue power led.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 04:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Default Re: Change Power led from green to blue?

yea at first i didnt mind the color, but wheni picked up a new blue led fan, to me it just threw off the colors. so thats why i asked if it was okay to change, so i did. What about, can i change the hard drive / busy light under it to blue. becasue its yellow. it dosent bother me but since i changed one i though i could do that one sometime.. haha
__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 06:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Change Power led from green to blue?

haha, once you do one you can't stop.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 06:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Change Power led from green to blue?

Wow...looks good I have put some blue LED fans and PSU in my HP case, but I might have to try that on my Power LED
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Built a new computer...NO POWER!!! HELP!!! imconfused System Upgrades 33 11-26-2007 08:32 PM
Echo Star 600W 20+4 Pin ATX Power Supply commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-04-2007 07:21 PM
IBM Announces PetaFLOP Blue Gene Supercomputer maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 06-27-2007 06:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.