Change dell case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2004, 04:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Default Change dell case

I have a dell dimension 8300 with

512mb ram
2.8 GHz pentium 4
standard dell 0W2562 mobo
and the crappy case that comes with it

Would it be possible to put everything in my case into a new ATX case such as the Chieftec Dragon or the Aspire X-SuperAlien, because I know that dell messes with the parts before they put them in their computers. My friend said that he tried this and had trouble with wiring the new powerswitch to the mobo but I don't know if this would be a problem. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

bogat20 is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog

There is only one true way to find out, try it out and let us know.

chog is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2

haha yeah
bogat20 is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527

yup i did a vaio and it worked. You just gotta try it. not that difficult most likely it will work. You may need new floppy definetly a psu.
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 12:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372

powerswitch is nothing to worry about if all else fails i can walk you through soldering it go 4 it

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.