Celeron-D 330 or Sempron 2600+? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2004, 07:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 108
Default Celeron-D 330 or Sempron 2600+?

Hi. In a near future I am planning to build my second computer. Which one of this chip should I pick, Celeron D330 or Sempron 2500 or 2600+? I mostly will use this computer for burning dvd retail movies, the internet and ocassional gaming. By the way thanks a lot to everyone in this forum with all the help on building my first computer, everything working ok . I will give this computer to my wife and daughter and will take the other one for me. Thanks.

Asus A7V400-MX
Sound and video Integrated
256 ddr 400 RAM
40 Seagate HD
105 Pioneer DVD-RW
AMD Sempron 2400
Cheap case with Neon light
__________________

elperra is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 08:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

I myself would go for the Celeron D,they have made a big improvement with them like running on presscott core,bigger cache and front side bus,I think it would do everything you want no problem and the best part is they are cheap
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Yeah the Sempron is like the lowest of the lowend. AMD realy disapointed me. But I would go with the Celeron D also.
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

perhaps you should look in a different location and get an AMD xp-m 2400+, you can easily crank it up a notch with overclocking and get better performance than both those chips, at a price of 83$ last time i checked. if you decide to go this route, look for a dp102 heatsink(comes with 2 fans), and you can make a very nice system for less cost than your other options
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Default

I agree with leanidas,
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-400&depa=0

there it is only 78 bucks
__________________
amd 3200+ barton
gigabyte 7N400-L mobo
512 kingston
maxtor 40 gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
430 watt psu
thermaltake xtreme volcano 12 hsf
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 02:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

woohoo, the first time anyone has ever agreed with me in my entire life... im gonna go buy myself an icecream cake...
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 04:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

i would go sempron, the last Celeron i did something on made me want to kill myself for how slow it was, plus if you get a high end sempron it goes in a 754 board which can hold A64's

BUT if you think about it, i also agree about the Athlon XP-M 2400+. MUCH better CPU for less money.

Edit: ALSO the semprons have a HUGE L1 cache compared to Celerons

Celeron: 12+16=28K
Sempron: 64+64=128K

That will make a HUGE difference in responsiveness.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 07:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Edit: ALSO the semprons have a HUGE L1 cache compared to Celerons

Celeron: 12+16=28K
Sempron: 64+64=128K

That will make a HUGE difference in responsiveness.
I think you got that 1 wrong,the new Celeron D has a 256k L2 cache which is twice the size of the Sempron.
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 12:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

he said L1, not L2...
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 01:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

o well i guess i don't read to good
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.