Celeron 1.7Ghz Overclock? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2004, 12:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

uhhh, do the math......17x multiplier (as shown in the pic) times 398.4 bus speed equals core speed 1693 mhz
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

you mean fbs cos 17 x 398.4 is like just over 6700
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Yon
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 246
Default

It's the other number... 99.6
__________________
Intel P4 3.2GHz Prescott @ 3.8GHz
Asus P5GD2 Premium Motherboard
Saphire x800XT With VGA Silencer @ 520MHz and 1.15GHz
Corsair 1GB XMS2-4300
Antec PlusView 1000AMG Case
Maxtor 160GB SATA Hard Drive
Yon is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

so can some1 explain y my original speed was 800Mhz when its a 1.7Ghz?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

sorry for being dumb but these are what forums are for!
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 03:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

i have the exact same chip as you and my fsb is a little above 100 and the multiplier is 17 as well... im not sure i understand ur problem tho.. how could ur multiplier have been 8? that wudve given u a clock speed of 800 Mhz like nubius said... and then didnt u say u increased ur fsb to 133 and ur multiplier to 12? so how come it still says 99.6 * 17?

EDIT: if you're using the mobo that came with this computer (im guessing that this is a manufacturers built computer like hp or dell or something) then all the bios options for overclocking are locked.. you cant change any of the options such as fsb or ur multiplier.. the bios on the mobo just wont let u
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 05:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well you can't say your original speeds was 800MHz unless you took a CPU-Z screenshot of it. Your computer is running where it's supposed to be now and yeah you corrected that guy, he meant the FSB and the multi and your FSB is right on target. It might have looked like it was set to 8x100 in the BIOS but in reality if it's a prebuilt comp like silver was saying, then it basically ignores the changes and sticks to it's normal 17x100, Unless you had built it or something and forgot to change your speeds to what they should have been, but it doesn't seem like that's what happened.

Quote:
Saphire ATI Radeon 96000XT 128MB
Nice card...didn't know they made a 96,000XT lol Good card or what because I just suggested this guy get a 9600XT 256mb card also sapphire.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 12:04 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Nice card...didn't know they made a 96,000XT lol Good card or what because I just suggested this guy get a 9600XT 256mb card also sapphire.
yup its an amazing card for the price range.. but alas with my celeron i barely notice a difference between tha and the intel extreme graphics 2 onboard video lol o well im thiss close to building a new comp with a 64 3500+ and a 6800GT in there lol
__________________

__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.