cathodes? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2006, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default cathodes?

i wanted to put a 3 pin plug on instead of the molex on the cable that comes out the transformer thing of the cathodes, right, but it didnt work, can they only work on the molex, or did i screw up the really simple task of splicing some cables



while im here, ya know you can get those round ide cable for floppys with just 2 connectors on them, not the ones with slave and primary, just primary or whtever, can you get those for cd drives?

cheers
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 06:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Default

i believe they only work w/ molex, but i could be wrong about that.

any IDE cable will work with CD ROM drives. that's what they are made for. (and old IDE HDDs)
__________________

Reaver is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 06:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 367
Default

ok so you want molex > 3 pin correct? I'm kinda confused, so a pic would definately help.
__________________
Setup no longer here.... need new one....
xenium is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

basicly, ya know that on the non cathode end of the transformer, there is a cable with a button on and a molex, i cut that right back so there is just a red and a black cable coming out the transformer, then i soldered it to a 3 pin, same colour wise and all, but no worky.

also, i didnt think you could use floppy ides on hhd and cds cos its got differnt pin, this is what i want http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...source=Froogle but for a cd drive, will that work?
harry18 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 07:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Default

what i was saying was that you should be able to find the same type of cable design, but in IDE rather than floppy. I know you cant use floppy cables for IDE.

like this here: round single IDE cable
Reaver is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 03:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by harry18
basicly, ya know that on the non cathode end of the transformer, there is a cable with a button on and a molex, i cut that right back so there is just a red and a black cable coming out the transformer, then i soldered it to a 3 pin, same colour wise and all, but no worky.

also, i didnt think you could use floppy ides on hhd and cds cos its got differnt pin, this is what i want http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...source=Froogle but for a cd drive, will that work?
The red and black from the cathode are 12V. The red on a PS is 5V.

You need to connect the red from the cathode to a yellow from the ps for it to work.
__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 06:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

cheers mark, its all good now

buut, round single ide cables dont exist in the UK for some reason
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.