CaseMod Sneak Peak - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2007, 03:44 PM   #21 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: CaseMod Sneak Peak

Here is the Diagram for how I was going to wire it. I am going to attach it to a 5v source (Not sure how I'd do that for a Molex source...)

I don't think I need any resistors because the LEDs I found are 5v, same as the source voltage.

Can someone who knows a little more about circuits and wiring double check what I have here?
__________________

__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:21 PM   #22 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: CaseMod Sneak Peak

hey, just a side question, but where did you pick up the clear side panels, cause I messed mine up and am looking to replace it. lol.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:27 PM   #23 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: CaseMod Sneak Peak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
hey, just a side question, but where did you pick up the clear side panels, cause I messed mine up and am looking to replace it. lol.
Craft stores or Home Depot should have it.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 10:53 PM   #24 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: CaseMod Sneak Peak

Soldering isn't nearly as hard as I thought it'd be. My array works perfectly and I didn't need any resistors!

Next step is cutting little slots in the metal overhang so that I can angle the LEDs to shine through the acrylic to really highlight the etching.
__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 10:16 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
Default Re: CaseMod Sneak Peak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grievearz View Post
Here is the Diagram for how I was going to wire it. I am going to attach it to a 5v source (Not sure how I'd do that for a Molex source...)

I don't think I need any resistors because the LEDs I found are 5v, same as the source voltage.

Can someone who knows a little more about circuits and wiring double check what I have here?
LEDs need current limiting resistors, otherwise they can blow after a while. To calculate the resistor value, you need the voltage drop across the LED.

Most LED's have a current rating (can be found on the manufacturers data sheet), which will determines the size of the resistor you will need. The current rating tells you what the maximum allowable current for the individual LED is. The more current you feed through your LED, the brighter it will become.

Most LED's seem to handle at least 15mA, or .015A. If you are using a +5V circuit, then Ohms law (V = IR) tells you what resistor value to use. Rearranging to solve for the resistor, R = V / I, so R = 5v / .015A = 333 ohms. This is a standard resistor value, as you can purchase it in an electronics store.

EDIT - wow never knew this thread was so old. I just jumped into it from the Case Gallery forum.
undefined is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 02:48 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 145
Default Re: CaseMod Sneak Peak

wow man, thats dope.
great design, yeah that should look nice on the side of a ninehundred
__________________
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...igns/pcsig.jpg
xfire:nhlrocker
msn:cave_daniel@hotmail.com
3DMark05:14,880
aquamark score:133,352 :)
nhlrocker is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 03:27 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: CaseMod Sneak Peak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grievearz View Post
Here is the Diagram for how I was going to wire it. I am going to attach it to a 5v source (Not sure how I'd do that for a Molex source...)

I don't think I need any resistors because the LEDs I found are 5v, same as the source voltage.

Can someone who knows a little more about circuits and wiring double check what I have here?
All a diode does, is let current pass in one direction.
On top of that, you have a lot of them in paralell, which basically reduces the very small amount of resistance they have, to a much lower value.

Basically, yes, you really should have a resistor in the circuit Just one at the very start, or very end of the circuit will do.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:52 PM   #28 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: CaseMod Sneak Peak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
All a diode does, is let current pass in one direction.
On top of that, you have a lot of them in paralell, which basically reduces the very small amount of resistance they have, to a much lower value.

Basically, yes, you really should have a resistor in the circuit Just one at the very start, or very end of the circuit will do.
In this case, would it make a different to integrate it into the line or to bridge it across both lines like those LEDs?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 01:51 PM   #29 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: CaseMod Sneak Peak

The array has been working fine without a resistor. It wouldn't be too hard to put one in but the LEDs are rated for 5v to 6v so I didn't think they would have a problem being overloaded by a 5v source.

I'm still trying to figure out a way to spread the beams of the LEDs a little more, as it is now they only light up a narrow beam of the etching.

To answer peter, if I was to use a resistor I would integrate it into the line. If I were to bridge it as part of the LED, I would need one resistor for each LED instead of one total and the effects would be the same.
__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 03:16 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
Default Re: CaseMod Sneak Peak

Grievearz, you need one or else one or many of them can burn out after a while, especially if the current is unregulated.

Trust me, I'm a design engineer for a major defense contractor, doing radar and sonar development - I've had experience in circuit design.
__________________

undefined is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anandtech Review on the x48T-DQ6: Sneek Peak of the future x48 veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-25-2007 07:55 PM
Tri-SLi Sneak Preview NosBoost300 Overclocking and Modding 13 11-25-2007 11:42 AM
Hackers Sneak Tricks into MySpace Band Pages Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 11-01-2007 11:15 AM
A sneak peek at DirectX 10.1 b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 34 08-08-2007 10:38 PM
Extremetech Casemod Winner veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-20-2007 10:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.