Case umm, mod? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2010, 10:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Case umm, mod?



Yeah, this is my server, ITX Intel Atom 330 board. I put Ubuntu on it, on an old 10GB drive I had laying around. For some odd reason, when I took the DVD-Rom off, it no longer booted. Put it back on, worked fine. I just looked inside my case, looked at the DVD and HDD. So I stuffed it in there. Hey, it works fine. And I don't need an optical drive for it unless I have to reinstall. The DVD is actually broken, has a bad door, need to use the paper clip to open it.

Don't complain about the wire mess, it has enough room to breathe.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 12:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Case umm, mod?

That's quite the um, rig? :P
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Case umm, mod?

:P Yeah, my two HDD bays are taken by my 2 x 640GB drives. Have the foam there to seperate the HDD from the DVD.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 03:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Case umm, mod?

soo... what is this thread about ? o_O you wanna mod your case?
__________________
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 04:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Case umm, mod?

Look inside my case, towards the back. Abstract got it right away. :P
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Case umm, mod?

I really hope this is the last time someone uses foam in a "case mod."
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 04:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Case umm, mod?

LOL. I was only using it to put a barrier between the HDD and DVD Burner. But still, yeah.

I might cut that thing down a bit.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 05:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: Case umm, mod?

case mod? try wire manage ment :P I'm willing to bet that DVD drive boot issue is due to boot priorities but I could be wrong
vortex2450 is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 06:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Case umm, mod?

It's not boot priority at all, the BIOS would freeze with a _ on screen. I'll look more into it later. Just thought this pic was funny. :P
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 06:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Case umm, mod?

I don't understand why you don't just put the Disc drive and HDD drive where they belong. I know there are more bays than the 2 you're currently using...
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case mod project: Wc pump/rad housing case schulz269 Overclocking and Modding 18 04-15-2007 02:00 PM
case modding.... :D:D looking for a plasic case to practice on! zerodayATK Overclocking and Modding 5 11-13-2006 11:33 PM
New Project: Change a OLD ATX case into a new ATX case LegendBreath Overclocking and Modding 9 04-03-2005 10:32 AM
Case to Case*Common Disaster*? mousepad Overclocking and Modding 6 03-14-2004 12:03 AM
Noobie question...about case fans in new case? hereticiv Overclocking and Modding 4 07-03-2003 11:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.