Case LCD screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2004, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default Case LCD screen

ive seen some super highend pcs that have a ~6 inch lcd built into the case, what for? is this just for showoff or does it control stuff w/ the pc like fans, etc

just for reference id like to know where to get something like this also
__________________

Naga is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 09:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Can you provide a link?
__________________

Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 09:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
dot
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 96
Default

dot is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 11:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

http://www.b-w-p.net/bwp9/img/lcd4.jpg

you get sumthin like this if you want...i wanted to do this for my case. Until i realized a 7" touchscreen is like $300+ lol.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default

LOL, thats nice and all, but I don't think I'd get that if I was rich! It's just stupid.
Askarz is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 10:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default

i guess this is a pretty hardcore case mod
Naga is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 11:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

That case isent anything specail. My friend has an 4 inch LCD that came with his case. Those LCD screens are used as a temp gage fan rpm gage. Most cases that have LCD pretty much suck, since it comes with a LCD nothing else is specail about it. Thats why that case looks so darn plan, that case cost no more then 150.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

I got a $60 case and i'm very happy with it. 2 windows and great modibility. very sturdy and nothing is lose or bent. price isn't everything to me.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 12:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.
Default

4-w .. so true , but if you want to watch what every thing is doing at a glance i guess that is the way to go..for instance if you are having a heat problem ..a glance will tell you where its at , one question though , does the lcd require input from the mobo or is done from another source? if from another source thanits not a resource problem for your main mobo ,and that is a good thing..ay?
__________________
if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 12:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smokin-A.I.
4-w .. so true , but if you want to watch what every thing is doing at a glance i guess that is the way to go..for instance if you are having a heat problem ..a glance will tell you where its at
why can't you just look at the monitor? I have speedfan and MBM5 for that same purpose. they are free and easy to install. tells me CPU,chipset,HD, RAM temps, fan RPM's, voltage settings, graphs of performance...even has alarm functions and extras just like the software for an LCD.

compared to an expensive LCD screen that needs to be installed and plugged in and configured. it looks kewl, but for free vs. ~$80+ i'd go with free lol.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.