Case layout - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2007, 01:16 AM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Case layout

__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 01:19 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Case layout

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
yeah, that's what I was thinking.

But dude, use PNG if there's only solid colours and lines. Much better compression/quality.
48kb with artifacts vs under 10kb with no artifacts
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 01:20 AM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Case layout

What's PNG? I never heard of it. :shocked:
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 01:21 AM   #24 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Case layout

It's another file format for images.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 01:27 AM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Case layout

Oh! I was using JPG.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:21 AM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Case layout

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Oh! I was using JPG.
use JPG for photos, but PNG for blocky pictures with just a few colours in it.
Or if you want the best quality for photos, without the artifacts that JPG gets.. but at the same time have a file size significantly lower than BMP or TIF
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:27 AM   #27 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Case layout

Should I use PNG, for my sig? It's JPG right now.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:04 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Case layout

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Should I use PNG, for my sig? It's JPG right now.
your sig got lots of colours, so the compression methods PNG uses won't make the file size very small

PNG is a little bit like GIF, small file sizes if there are not many colours. But PNG is 24-32-bit, and can have a much higher quality than GIF with a very high amount of colours, and doesn't get artifacts like JPG... but file sizes become bigger the more colours and/or detail there is.

But one thing PNG has that other file types don't is 8-bit transparency (which my sig uses). GIF transparency only has on or off.

Basically, if there are very few colours, PNG will often give the lowest file size, with no artifacts. But if there is a lot of colour, PNG still gives much better quality than GIF, and better quality than JPG, but the file size usually becomes large, though a lot smaller than 24-bit BMP or TIF.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 12:08 PM   #29 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Case layout

what about bmp :P
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:29 PM   #30 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Case layout

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
For the fans, I'll probably use Cooler Master ones. 1200RPM @ 19 dBA

it's easy to find blue ones at 19 dBA, though it's hard to find green ones at that noise level (they're usually over 20)
okay i need a link to somewhere that sells the coolermaster (AMD lol) green led fans.
i need 2 x 120mm and 1 92mm.
someone HELP!
i found the thunderblade on newegg @21db 120mm, but no 92mm, and no coolermaster green at all.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts on the Antec 900 joey1 New Systems | Building and Buying 69 07-14-2007 06:04 AM
motherboard wont fit the case siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-22-2007 03:33 PM
stock case psu siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 06-20-2007 03:54 PM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM
Case mod project: Wc pump/rad housing case schulz269 Overclocking and Modding 18 04-15-2007 02:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.