Case layout - Page 10 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2007, 03:59 AM   #91 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Case layout

I just finished soldering my SATA power cable together:


It's much thinner than any other SATA cables, and still works fine.




There's the other end, with the blue molex connector.
The white molex connector originally only had one fan header coming out of it. It came with the case, with six others.
I cut the wires out of one, and soldered them into this one, so I could have two fan headers coming out of it.

Each of those fan headers attatch to another cable, that splits into four more fan headers (for a total of 8 fan headers)

All of the fan headers, and the molex plugs in that picture will be hidden behind the motherboard tray.
*edit*
like this:


You can hardly notice the new SATA cable, except that it's got green sleeving (I didn't have any other colours)
the fans don't look as bright, because of the flash.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 04:14 AM   #92 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: Case layout

Looks awesome man. Can't wait to see the finished result.
__________________

__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 09:52 AM   #93 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Case layout

I found out the pinouts for the EPS 8 pin connector, which is very simple. All it has is 12V on 4 pins, and ground on the other 4:



So what I think I'll do is remove the two molex plugs from the 4 pin to EPS 8 pin connector, and just put some short wires to bridge the 4 other pins.

People often say that you need a dedicated EPS 8 pin connector for it to give a proper amount of power.

But honestly, I don't think they realise that a dedicated EPS connector only gets power from one of the +12V rails anyway.
If I modify the EPS connector to only use the +12V coming out of the P4 connector for all 8 pins, it'll just perform the same as a dedicated EPS connector would anyway.

And it would make for significantly cleaner wire management.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 10:29 AM   #94 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Case layout

hardly? i cant see them at all.
your still doing great.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 12:44 AM   #95 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Case layout

I've modified the EPS connector so it only needs the P4 connector to power it. It's much easier to hide the cable now:



plus, with the black cable sleeving, it blends in with the motherboard.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 12:58 AM   #96 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Case layout

yeah, i was about to say, what cable? had to look closely to find the bugger.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 01:35 AM   #97 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Case layout

Glad to see another owner of the fantastic Thermalright 03Plus! Have you had a chance to check out the temps on it yet? My GTX is running 8800Ultra Superclocked Edition speeds.. it's amazing ^^ Plus, it's only running at about 41°C Right now

BTW I'm loving the set-up so far. I really like tjhat case... If I didn;t love the look of the Armor so much I would have gotten that one.
Alexinator is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 02:09 AM   #98 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Case layout

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinator View Post
Glad to see another owner of the fantastic Thermalright 03Plus! Have you had a chance to check out the temps on it yet? My GTX is running 8800Ultra Superclocked Edition speeds.. it's amazing ^^ Plus, it's only running at about 41°C Right now
at the moment, there is no fan on it, and my 8800 GTS 320MB is running at 57-58ºC idle - which is still better than stock
at night, it usually runs at about 50ºC without a fan

With a fan from a stock AMD heatsink, it runs at about 44-48ºC idle (depending on the time of day)

I may end up watercooling it along with the CPU, but I'm not sure it needs it.
I can just get a 92mm fan for it, and use the watercooling for the CPU only
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 02:13 AM   #99 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Case layout

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
at the moment, there is no fan on it, and my 8800 GTS 320MB is running at 57-58C idle - which is still better than stock
at night, it usually runs at about 50C without a fan

With a fan from a stock AMD heatsink, it runs at about 44-48C idle (depending on the time of day)

I may end up watercooling it along with the CPU, but I'm not sure it needs it.
I can just get a 92mm fan for it, and use the watercooling for the CPU only
why dont you just get the gtx?
im not sure how much of a gamer you are, but since your build is gonna take some time and its not worth upgrading after your build is complete cos of all the re configs you gotta do.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 07:34 AM   #100 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Case layout

I've made basically a giant leap forward today.

Using a drill, a jigsaw, and some files, I cut the holes in the motherboard tray:


and installed my PC:


And now I have a pump mount:

credit for the pump mount goes to my dad.

Before I install my watercooling system, I still need a few things first.
I need a Y splitter, so I can put in a fillport
I need some new water additive
I need a fillport

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
why dont you just get the gtx?
well, it does cost money.

though my GTS runs every game I play on max settings, or at least close to max settings.
Quote:
im not sure how much of a gamer you are, but since your build is gonna take some time and its not worth upgrading after your build is complete cos of all the re configs you gotta do.
After I've finished this, it'll be much easier to put in new CPU's, video cards etc...
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts on the Antec 900 joey1 New Systems | Building and Buying 69 07-14-2007 06:04 AM
motherboard wont fit the case siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-22-2007 03:33 PM
stock case psu siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 06-20-2007 03:54 PM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM
Case mod project: Wc pump/rad housing case schulz269 Overclocking and Modding 18 04-15-2007 02:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.