Case Fans and Dust - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2004, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Case Fans and Dust

Quick Question here.

I got a computer here, and the customer is complaining about DUST.

There is a space for one case fan on the back of the PC. If I put a 80mm fan BLOWWING OUT, will this help minimise the amount of dust in the PC?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-22-2004, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

It will help but it would also help if there was a front fan, i have that type of case with only one fan. Also, tell them not to put the thing on the goddam floor.
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 05-22-2004, 01:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

I origionally bought a system from D'HELL and they seemed to keep the dust out by isolating the cooled parts of the system with its air outake. Since the rest of the computer doesn't get much air, there isn't much dust either.
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 05-22-2004, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Tell him to keep it off the floor basically. The outfan in the back is not going to help that much. I have an antec full tower with 2 front fans going in and 2 back going out. The dust is not super bad but every few monthes i take off the clear side door and blow it out with an aircompressor as well as the fans, I would try and sell him some of the compressed air cans to keep it clean. Most of all keep it off the floor. Thats where mine sits though. It creates more heat for it also if its on carpet. Sitting on carpet is not as loud but whatever not too much you can do.
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 05-22-2004, 09:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Imaminuteman04
Default

Just get a foam filter... problem solved does lower the CFM a tiny bit though
Imaminuteman04 is offline  
Old 05-23-2004, 01:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Imaminuteman04
Just get a foam filter... problem solved does lower the CFM a tiny bit though
One the set up that I was just talking about... HOW?????

There is only one space on the case for a fan. This is on the back of the PC.

I am trying to encourage to the dust to go out.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 06:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

how about keeping the dust from goin in in the first place, turn the fan around and have it blow in but have it suck air thru the foam is prolly what i would do
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 10:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Don't forget about the power supply fan!

You can have the air circulate properly if you have the fans setup correctly. The filter idea will work but make sure you have a good filter and a good fan, you don't want to burn out the fan.
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.