Card Temperature - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2007, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
Default Card Temperature

ok when idle my nvidia 8800 GTS 320 mb SC i get 65 degres celcius

when playing mildy graphics games 70-75

when playing new games like the CoD4 demo and Bioshock, i get 80-85

i think 80 is alot, is it, i realy dont want to ruin my card or anything
__________________

javier is offline  
Old 10-12-2007, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Card Temperature

is it overclocked?
BTW seems normal, if you want better improvment put some AS5 paste on it
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 05:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Card Temperature

MY X1900XT 512 is at 50c idle and 65-70 load :P
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 09:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Card Temperature

Quote:
Originally Posted by javier
when playing new games like the CoD4 demo and Bioshock, i get 80-85

i think 80 is alot, is it, i realy dont want to ruin my card or anything
80C load is acceptable for the high end 8 series. Although it's a bit much, they can tolerate it. You might want to do what Sylwek mentioned, with applying a better thermal paste, such as AS5. Or you should look into adding more case fans, such as a side intake.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 09:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Card Temperature

Will AS5 on its own on the RAM do anything with no heatsinks b1g ? PS (go online msn)
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 09:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Card Temperature

Thermal paste itself, isn't going to do anything. You need a heatsink for the thermal paste to work effectively.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Card Temperature

Alright .
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 12:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Card Temperature

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
80C load is acceptable for the high end 8 series. Although it's a bit much, they can tolerate it. You might want to do what Sylwek mentioned, with applying a better thermal paste, such as AS5. Or you should look into adding more case fans, such as a side intake.
I just bought myself a PCI-Fan card , does the trick form 57*C on idle to 45*C on idle, and it looks great too
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 12:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Card Temperature

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post
Will AS5 on its own on the RAM do anything with no heatsinks b1g ? PS (go online msn)
you should be looking at something like this:


Paste on RAM modules can do damage if they're conductive
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 01:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Card Temperature

oo lol AS5 is . Maybe ill get heatsinks :P
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 09:40 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM
graphics card temperature program Nick Overclocking and Modding 6 04-02-2007 01:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.