Card cooling - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2005, 06:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah but the 6600GT is already more powerful than the 9800 in most aspects so you'd have to OC that 9800 pro up a little before matching the performance, and then you'd be able to OC the 6600GT which would lead you to have the OC the 9800 much further to compensate for the OC of the 6600GT which in turn the GDDR3 memory will still be able to OC further than the GDDR2 memory on the 9800 pro according to most articles and reviews I've read regarding GDDR3 memory.

So in the end I still think the 6600GT would be the wisest choice.

Concerning the power supply, you would need to upgrade the PSU eventually anyway and likes been said you can get one to serve your needs for like $50. The PSU is after all the 'life giver' if you will to the system so why keep updating hardware that could be not getting sufficient power for efficient usage
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 06:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Default

We overclocked the 9800 Pro and 6600 GT in three of our tests. The 9800 Pro can overclock about 50% higher than the 6600 GT.

These results have nothing to do with the quality of the cards as NVIDIA is very closed to user modification.
__________________

ChipXI is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 06:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah I'm not saying the 9800 can't OC more, but I'm saying you gotta OC it somewhat just to bring it up to par (although it does to really well in some tests and depending on the environment can stay up with the 6600GT but only in some, not all) so with that in mind, say you OC the 9800 pro up 10% that matches the 6600GT...well then you can OC the 6600GT up say 20% then you'd need to OC that 9800PRO up even further. All said and done you'd HAVE to OC the 9800pro much further than the 6600GT just to match it in the end, know what I'm sayin?
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

the eVga 6600GT overclocks past 600Ultra speeds (on stock cooling), it should outmatch a 9800PRO card even with an aftermarket cooler. The 9800PRO is considered "last generation" and it's getting outperformed fast, i definetly would go with the 6600GT, even if it's not one of the higher overclockers. They can be had for less than $200.

I know what you are saying Nubius lol. Moire likely the 9800PRO can overclock MORE, but it TAKES that overclocking to match the LESS overclock of the 6600GT. With better cooling on the 6600GT it should be able to hit 40-50% overclocks as well, just depends on what kind of cooling you are talking about.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah I wish they'd hurry up and make that Arctic Silencer brand heatsink for the dang 6600GT =/ They got em for the 6800's and whatnot, but wheres the 6600GT dernit!
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 130
Default

ok, i gave myself a scare. my mb was acting up. i just reset the cmos and everything was good. but, back to video card. i just my give in and get myself a new psu and the 6600 gt. i thought about this psu, give me your feed back.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...167-007&depa=0

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-220&depa=1
Shadow Geek is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well just remember you get what you pay for. Pretty dern cheap, but from what everyone says who bought it it's been great for their uses. 18a on the +12v is pretty good and should serve your purposes well
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 130
Default

any recomendations? for the psu. (wonders how it went from card cooling to psu) but im greatful for the help
Shadow Geek is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 11:11 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

i try not to spend less than $75 on a PSU...the cheapies are definetly not a safe buy. I would really have to disagree on this, 18A is pretty bad for the 12v IMHO (my PSU that came with my case had 18A and after a lil' over a year it's pooping out on me). anything below 20A on any of the rails tells me it's not quality and won't last very long under a hard overclock. for a little more you can get a rock solid PSU if you want...

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...182-010&depa=1

incredible amps on all 3 main rails, good looks, lots of power, see if you can afford it.

This has dual 12v rails for added stability for a lil' cheaper price...
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-499&depa=1
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 11:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...153-007&DEPA=0

If you don't mind throwing in that much. That will serve you for a while to come.

Otherwise Id suggest:

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...159-023&DEPA=0

EDIT: Dang that's a nice PSU you linked there 4W4K3

My main PSU up until this thermaltake was only 15A on the +12v rail. 18a is sufficient for those who don't have insane amounts of fans or drives so I don't really think that that would be an issue, but of course with that rosewill he'll never have to worry about that lol.

This thermaltake has 22a on the +12v rail and I've had 13 fans, 4 HD's, 2 opticals, OC'd CPU, blah blah and it never got close to being taxed
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.