can't touch this mod - internal UPS - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2005, 11:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

Don't UPS let rip with a minor EMP when they go need to activate?


Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 11:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Yes, I know what the UPS does. I just can't understand why he wants to put it inside his computer.
why did you make the comment 'it only stays on 25 minutes' then? But yeah, I wouldn't put on in my comp

I want a cheap UPS myself...I only need one that'll last 5 mins since power outages seem to happen a lot around here

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 11:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u

yeah, ummm maybe you should get a new case

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 12:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
RockyZ's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ

I myself have an old UPS that was used for some servers, and when they closed, I got it for free. I don't knwo about your UPS, but mine is heavy as hell, how in the world would you be able to lug your desktop around?

G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 12:51 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Disillusion's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810

Originally posted by Nubius
why did you make the comment 'it only stays on 25 minutes' then?
The way he put it is that "laptops have a battery, why can't a pc?". So, I was assuming he wanted to kind of go portable with this computer or something. But with only 25 minutes of time on the battery, I can't see why someone would want to put this thing inside the computer when the computer is going to sit in one location for 99% of the time.

Anyway, I give you props on attempting something creative.
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 06:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to turboFX55 Send a message via Yahoo to turboFX55

LMAO, good idea, BAD INSTALL, this could be thought out a little better instead of $%^*ing up a good case. why dont you mod some of you extra expansion bay slots to fit the cord, not run it out the front!:freak:

turboFX55 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.