can't touch this mod - internal UPS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2005, 02:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Default can't touch this mod - internal UPS

I have limited space in my room, so I decided to take the backup battery and put it inside the computer. If a laptop can have a battery, why not a desktop?

its pretty cool, check it out: http://forums.futureofcnc.com/index....howtopic=1587&
__________________

absh is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 02:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Your such a forum hoper.

http://forums.overclockersclub.com/Y...ps-t62191.html
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 04:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

One question. Why?

It only powers it for 25 minutes? Why not just leave it on the outside?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 04:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

why not just plug it into a wall using an extension cord
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 05:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
It only powers it for 25 minutes?
A UPS is only meant to give you enough time for when the electricity goes out and you don't want your computer shutting off with it....not so he can just carry around his desktop and play with it for 25 minutes or something.

Mods are done for entertainment and to say you did, that's why he did it, although I wouldn't do it myself.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 05:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

"Please, allow me to put that freakin' thing out of it's misery!"


_______________________________________________


"Shoot me..... Please........Shoot me............"
HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 05:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Well, it could be useful if you have a big UPS and want to do some hardcore gaming for like 30 minutes during a power outage.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 05:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Nice!
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 06:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
A UPS is only meant to give you enough time for when the electricity goes out and you don't want your computer shutting off with it....not so he can just carry around his desktop and play with it for 25 minutes or something.

Mods are done for entertainment and to say you did, that's why he did it, although I wouldn't do it myself.
Yes, I know what the UPS does. I just can't understand why he wants to put it inside his computer.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 06:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Nissanspecv04
Default

lol I think its a cool idea, i know some of us get that bored and have cases we would like to cut up. This gives you a reason lol. very original good work.
__________________

Nissanspecv04 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.