can't overclock xp2800+ over 2310mhz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2004, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 95
Default can't overclock xp2800+ over 2310mhz

I have my multiplier at 11x210. if i go to 11.5 it either doesn't boot into windows or the computer won't start and i have to reset the bios. have i reached the max or am i doing something wrong? I even tried uping the vcor up 1 notch on the list and it still didn't turn on.

thanks,
ryan
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Epox EP-8RDA3+ rev. 1.1
Corsair XMS 2x512mb PC3200 C2PT
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
Maxtor Diamond Max 9 80GB SATA HD
Maxtor Diamond Max 10 80GB SATA HD
Lite-on 16x DVD/48x CD-rom drive
Lite-on 52x/32x/52x CD-RW Drive
Creative SB Live! 5.1 Digital
Antec SX1040BII Case
4x80mm case fans, 2 in, 2 out

OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
Devil4915 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

you're probably at the max.. do you know what mhz a 2800+ has???

a 2800+ is at 1.8 ghz. you overclocked it a lot
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

If your CPU is adequately cooled then it could be your motherboard or memory holding you back. What speed is your memory as you increase the FSB?

What temperature are you running at within BIOS?
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 95
Default

temp in bios is 49 celcius.

memory unfortunatly is Kingston value ram. the timings are set at "agressive" whcih is 3-3-3-8 if i move the fsb to anything above 211 it goes to 3-3-3-9. if i set the ram at "turbo" setting of 3-2-2-7 it doesnt startup at all(never did even before overclocking)

by the way, wats the default multiplier of the 2800+?

ryan
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Epox EP-8RDA3+ rev. 1.1
Corsair XMS 2x512mb PC3200 C2PT
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
Maxtor Diamond Max 9 80GB SATA HD
Maxtor Diamond Max 10 80GB SATA HD
Lite-on 16x DVD/48x CD-rom drive
Lite-on 52x/32x/52x CD-RW Drive
Creative SB Live! 5.1 Digital
Antec SX1040BII Case
4x80mm case fans, 2 in, 2 out

OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
Devil4915 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by geo3tech
you're probably at the max.. do you know what mhz a 2800+ has???

a 2800+ is at 1.8 ghz. you overclocked it a lot
The default speed for the 2800+ Barton is actually 2080 MHz with a 12.5 Multiplier and 166MHz FSB.

The Kingston value RAM line is just that, value based versus high performance based. If you upgrade it to their HyperX line, you should be able to get the results you're trying to get.
Xemus is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 05:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

It depends what speed the Kingston is, is it PC2700 or PC3200?

I usually go for a memory speed a speed higher than my default FSB speed to allow for overclocking.

I bought PC3200 (DDR400) for my XP2500+ (333FSB), but then upgraded to a XP3200+ and I didn't have to upgrade memory. I will be getting PC4000XMS soon and transferring other Corsair down to System 2 - then I will overclock my XP2500+ from 166FSB to 200FSB and have a system practically the same minus VGA/HDD
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 06:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 95
Default

my mem is pc3200, i figured it was the mem holding me back
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Epox EP-8RDA3+ rev. 1.1
Corsair XMS 2x512mb PC3200 C2PT
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
Maxtor Diamond Max 9 80GB SATA HD
Maxtor Diamond Max 10 80GB SATA HD
Lite-on 16x DVD/48x CD-rom drive
Lite-on 52x/32x/52x CD-RW Drive
Creative SB Live! 5.1 Digital
Antec SX1040BII Case
4x80mm case fans, 2 in, 2 out

OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
Devil4915 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.