Can't overclock at all! HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2004, 05:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 87
Default Can't overclock at all! HELP!

I have an Emachine (yes i know......) that came with a 1.3GHz Intel Celeron processor (again, i know ).

I'm planning to overclock it just a tad whee bit.

The problem is, when I enter BIOS, (PhoenixBIOS is supposedly the name of it), there are no setting for the FSB or the VCore. All it has are simple stuff like Audio configuration, Primary and Secondary Slave, etc.


The only thing that remotely comes close to FSB or the processor itself is the information given. It will only tell my I have a 1.3GHz processor with a 100MHz FSB and 256KB of Cache.



How would I overclock in this case if i'm not able to adjust the FSB.


Perhaps there is a different BIOS program I can download ( ) Help me. thanks.
__________________

gsteg is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Find out which motherboard you have by downloading CPU-Z and download the latest BIOS if you can find it.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 87
Default

thanks for the CPU-Z!


The manufacturer came out to be: Trigem Computer, Inc.
and the model for it is the: Lomita (with a name like that, I wouldn't expect quality. lol)



I couldn't seem to find anything on their site so I went to the BIOS brand (which is Phoenix) and couldn't find any updates either.



I take it that i'm stuck at 1.3GHz
gsteg is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 08:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 26
Default

i have the same thing going on...
when my brother got a better vid card (5700 ultra), it said to go into the BIOS and make sure all these different setting say what they're supposed to.......

LOL, DELL BIOS has only about 10 settings, only a couple of em you can even change... (like password)......its pathetic.....(and yes, we DLed the latest BIOS and it didnt change any settings just supposed to reduce **** ups when loading which never happened anyways.....DELL = good office PCs, and targets at shooting range......
natedogg42 is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 11:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 87
Default

yup. mine has only a few settings, which i find retarded.
gsteg is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 12:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Dell sucks...so do all of them, they wont let you OC for crap.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 03:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 87
Default

oh well. i'll just upgrade to more memory for better performance.

just thought OC would be a nice thing (providing i have all the required equipment).


time to slap on a stick of 512MB. Thanks guys
gsteg is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 04:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

uh you know that most companies lock their bios right?
__________________

__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.