Cant go Higher? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2005, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default Cant go Higher?

I am trying to get my Intel P4 2.60 GHZ 800 bus speed to 1000 bus speed , so far i got it to 3.1 at 957 bus speed. And if i go any higher the computer dont start( have to reset bios) so if i want to go higher i have to higher the voltages right, is that what doesnt let my pc boot?
__________________

comrad is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 05:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yes, CPU stability is corrected by raising the core voltage. Please remember that increasing voltage increases heat though.

Also, I hope that you have locked your PCI and AGP slots, and that you are monitoring your memory and motherboard temperatures.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

Lock my PCI and AGP, the ratio that raises them, is that what you are talkin about?
comrad is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 01:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

My Pci agp ratio is fized at 66/33 is that cool?
comrad is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 01:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
My Pci agp ratio is fized at 66/33 is that cool?
That's where it needs to be
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 01:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

usually when i oc it goes up, is that bad?
comrad is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 01:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

but now i locked it, or made it not change.
comrad is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 01:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

keep ur agp @ 66
__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 03:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

Thanx, so i raised my cpu voltage from 1.525 to 1.6 and it still ownt go higher, WHY?
comrad is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 05:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I have the same problem on an AMD CPU, no matter what i do i cannot get any higher even with a .05 volt increase
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.