Can't get 2.2GHz - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2005, 09:46 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Looks like my FSB/AGP/PCI ratio is 5:2:1, which means the FSB speed at 200MHz is asking too much of my AGPx4 graphics card... I am looking into a way to change the ratio to 6:2:1 but I don't think it is possible.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 04:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yup, without being able to lock the AGP at 66Mhz you are very limited
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 10:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Yup, without being able to lock the AGP at 66Mhz you are very limited
I was able to lock my AGP at 66 MHz. I still can't overclock to 2.2 GHz, and I've been through every voltage option for VCORE. Also, I loosened the RAM timings thinking it could be RAM stability, but that didn't help. Do you have any clue why I can't get up to 2.2 GHz? I've read about people with the same motherboard OC'ing to 2.2 GHz with no problems, so I'm pretty annoyed right now.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 10:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you talking specifically about your 2500+ barton?

It's hard to determine what it could be without being there honestly, unless your CPU is hitting an architectural wall simply because you just got the bad luck of the draw, then I don't see why it wouldn't hit those speeds.

When you say you've been through every voltage option what exactly have you done? You should be able to hit that speed with no more than 1.7vcore if not less....if you're leaving your RAM at PC3200 which I suggest for first finding out your CPU limitations...then basically all you technically should need to do is raise the FSB and raise the vcore.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Yeah, I was talking specifically about my 2500+ Barton. Ok I started off by slowly raising the FSB and RAM speed (at a 1:1 ratio of course) from 166 MHz to 200 MHz in increments of 5 MHz. At each new increment, I've gone into windows and run Prime95 for about 15 minutes for stability, and then raised the FSB up 5 more MHz. This is what sucks though, I can go up to about 190 or 195 MHz at maximum. Everytime I go to 200 MHz, Prime95 gives an error after 3 minutes. So at the 200 MHz level, I've raised VCORE and tried every setting in BIOS, from the stock 1.65V up to 1.8V. No matter what the voltage is set at, I can't get stability. Do you have any other recommendations?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

is your RAM infact PC3200 or is it PC2700 or something? I only ask to wonder if your RAM will go to 200 and no probs and to determine if it's simply your CPU causing the trouble.

If you've raised your Vcore then I guess your CPU just isn't wanting to go further.

Whats your stock multi, isn't that CPU stock 2GHz?

because if that's the case going from 166 to 200 would be going from 2GHz to 2.4GHz lol, so 195 would be 2.34GHz

Is your mobo a 333FSB mobo by chance?
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

is your RAM infact PC3200 or is it PC2700 or something? I only ask to wonder if your RAM will go to 200 and no probs and to determine if it's simply your CPU causing the trouble.

Yes, the RAM is Corsair XMS PC3200 and should run at stock speeds no problem.

Whats your stock multi, isn't that CPU stock 2GHz?

The XP 2500+ Barton is stock at 166 FSB x 11 = 1.83 GHz, so I'm attempting to overclock it to XP 3200+ speeds of 200 FSB x 11 = 2.2 GHz.

Is your mobo a 333FSB mobo by chance?

Nope, double and triple checked that. It supports PC3200 RAM, and I've read many stories of people overclocking the same CPU with the same mobo nearly right out of the box, so the the only thing I can figure is a limit with this particular CPU. What do you think?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 01:49 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

aright I wasn't sure if your CPU was 2GHz or 1.8...that's why I asked about that..

but yeah, I'm just guessing you got the luck of the draw or something dude and just got a CPU that won't OC
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 02:03 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Yeah, that's what I was thinking too...darn it.

:::EDIT::: Thanks for the help anyway, Nubius.
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Closed Thread

« AMD Duel Core | Mbm »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.