Can't get 2.2GHz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2005, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default Can't get 2.2GHz

Hello,

I know I wrote the basics on overclocking, and usually people ask me what to do... but I am clueless as to why I can't reach 2.2GHz.

I currently have an AMD Athlon XP2500+ Barton (1.83GHz default with a multiplier of 11.0x). I have achieved more than 2.2GHz core before, but that was a mixture of changing the multiplier and FSB - because I only had DDR333 memory that did not like being overclocked.

Recently I invested in a nice set of 2x 512MB Elixir DDR400 CL 3.0-3-3-6 memory. I have read reviews on overclocking a XP2500+ by simply increasing the FSB from default 166MHz to 200MHz... not even touching the voltage (at 1.650V default).

Currently I have only been able to get as high as 191MHz FSB (~2.1GHz) and any higher I get artifacts, I have tried increasing the voltage to 1.675V and 1.700V but with no difference. My CPU temperature under load is only 47 degrees celsius and 33 degrees celsius system temperature.

The artifacts are severe lines on 3D Marks 2001SE on "Nature". At 190MHz FSB I see no artifacts.

FSB Spread is [Disabled].

Any ideas anyone? As I am out of them.


My system is;
ThermalTake Xaser II Aluminium Case,
AMD Athlon XP2500+ with Coolermaster Jet-7 cooling,
1024MB (2x 512MB) (DDR400) Elixir Dual Channel memory (3.0-3-3-6),
MSI K7N2-L Motherboad with nForce2 chipset,
128MB MSI GeForce4 Ti4200 (AGPx4) <- I know its old
Windows XP Professional (SP2)

Get around 12k+ on 3D Marks 2001SE
And more than 17k on Aquamark 3
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I could be wrong, but dont artifacts only occur when the vid card is overheating?
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

That depends on the type of artifacts, different colour dots, or different colours altogether can mean different things.

The only problem with that is that my graphics card runs fine at 190MHz FSB and why would it run differently with a higher FSB? They are not related.

Any ideas are appreciated though
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Do you have your PCI \ AGP lock turned on?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah, AGP/PCI was the first thing I was about to ask.

If you don't have the AGP locked then you will be very limited to how far your FSB will go.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 07:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

elixir makes crappy, crappy ram

3-3-3-6 are very bad stock timings
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 07:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Kangaroo, I've had the same problem trying to overclock my 2500+. I've been able to get to 195 MHz FSB, but can't get to the full 200 for 2.2 GHz. If you find a solution, please post it or PM me.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 09:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
elixir makes crappy, crappy ram

3-3-3-6 are very bad stock timings
At least their not 3-4-4-8 like alot of value ram

I have Elixir, and it's great value ram.

Too bad I can get OCZ now for the price i payed for my value crap
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

whoa

the worst timings i've seen on value ram was my geil (2.5-4-4-8)

some people had UTT chips on their geil value too
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 01:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

3-4-4-8 on 'a lot' of valueRAM? what crap brands are you shopping at.

Diablos Geils RAM is the crappiest I've seen and I'd certainly not say 'a lot' of valueRAM has it.

Doesn't matter his timings anyway since he can't get it up to PC3200 speeds as it is currently.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

« AMD Duel Core | Mbm »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.