Can't decide between 939 pin and 754 pin?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2004, 12:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Default Can't decide between 939 pin and 754 pin??

I've read several posts discussing 939 pin and 754 pin MB and where they're headed. I guess the general consensus is to go for the 939 pin boards and processors for their future upgradabilty. But they're more expensive than the 754 processors.

That's why I kinda like the idea of

this board

I've never heard of this board but it got a couple of good reviews. Why can't some other MB manufacturers do this?? I really like the upgrade possibilities.

You could get the cheaper Athlon 64's (like the 2800 or 3000) with the 754 pin now for it and then get the FX's later without changing boards when they come down a little.

What do you guys think?
__________________

__________________
Antec Black Case
Athlon 1700XP 266Mhz Bus
Giga-Byte GA-7DXE
512MB Pc2700 DDR Ram
WD 7200RPM 40 GB HD
Maxtor 8GB HD
Geforce FX 5700LE w/ 128mb ram
SB Audigy Card
Win XP Home Edition
Altec Lansing 5.1 Speaker System
RangerX is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 02:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well, that's ummmmm..... strange
they have 3200+ CPU's in socket 939, if you don't want to spend a lot

I would reccomend this board, because you can't say how reliable a dual motherboard of different sockets is going to be, and you don't know what issues you might get
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 06:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I was watching people's overclocks in another forum that's strictly for AMD64's and the Arithmatic and Multimedia benches that were used in Sisoftware sandra got lower scores than me with my Overclocked 2400+ XP-M. Although they were pretty close to the same scores I guess you gotta compare 2.2GHz to 2.7GHz, but technically as far as that SiSoftware arithmatic and multimedia benchmarks are concerned a 2.7GHz overclocked 2400+ XP-M Runs faster than and AMD64....but yes I realize programs and windows in general isn't optimized for 64bit yet =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 09:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Default

I totally agree with avoiding it because of potential problems with two chipsets Apokalipse, I just like sharing neat stuff like that. They also have a socket A/socket 754 board that can use either the Athlon XP's, Durons, Semprons or the Athlon 64.

I'm glad you recommended the Giga-Byte board because that's the brand I want to go with anyway. I'm on my second board from Giga-Byte currently with a Athlon 1700XP and I figure why change brands when I've been happy with Giga-Byte?
__________________
Antec Black Case
Athlon 1700XP 266Mhz Bus
Giga-Byte GA-7DXE
512MB Pc2700 DDR Ram
WD 7200RPM 40 GB HD
Maxtor 8GB HD
Geforce FX 5700LE w/ 128mb ram
SB Audigy Card
Win XP Home Edition
Altec Lansing 5.1 Speaker System
RangerX is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 09:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Default

Well if anyone cares I found out who ASROCKS is. They're a subsidiary of ASUS. The board actually scored well in benchmarks using both type of processors. The website is ocworkbench.com. It looks like a lot of DIP switches to switch what type of processor you want to use.

And it still hasn't changed my mind from a 939 pin giga-byte.
__________________
Antec Black Case
Athlon 1700XP 266Mhz Bus
Giga-Byte GA-7DXE
512MB Pc2700 DDR Ram
WD 7200RPM 40 GB HD
Maxtor 8GB HD
Geforce FX 5700LE w/ 128mb ram
SB Audigy Card
Win XP Home Edition
Altec Lansing 5.1 Speaker System
RangerX is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 10:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

go wtih 939 man... 754 doesnt support dual channel and amd has 939 is most of their cpus now. 3200 for example. And as of the mobo... get the abit av8 3rd-eye. Best 939 mobo out ATM
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 10:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Abit AV8 3rd eye or the MSI Neo2-Platinum, both are excellent.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.