Cannot stay stable! - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2008, 05:44 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Cannot stay stable!

3dmark06 froze and was flickering with 3.6ghz. I lowered it to 3.5, blue screen. I just don't get it!!!
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 06:01 PM   #32 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Cannot stay stable!

changed to 3.4ghz, and I linked the memory with FSB instead of manual. In 3dmark06 i scored 12kstock, at 3.4ghz I got 12.7k. Not that much of a difference.
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 06:29 PM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Cannot stay stable!

700 points is actually not bad for a mild overclock
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 06:55 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Cannot stay stable!

yea, im happy with that. I idle at 41c, load at 54c. once again, I dont think those are right. asus probe II is the most accurate, core temp doesnt go under 41c ever, everest hasnt moved from 23c ever lol. the HSF on my cpu is cold to the touch, the main HS on the mobo is burning hot, only at 35c though lol. It does have a little fan on top of it htough. Sry for talking about temps AGAIN lol. But yea, looks like im stable at 3.4ghz. Time to tweak vcore down a lil bit. Next step is to OC my video card maybe? idle 49c with it, about 60c when playing crysis.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 11:32 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Cannot stay stable!

EVERYONE take a look at that video I made. Thats what my settings are at. let me know if its good, thanks! Link:
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 08:19 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Cannot stay stable!

what should I change to get above 3.4ghz? (watch the youtube video above too) 1.36 is WAY to hight for just 3.4ghz. I tried unlinking the ram, (1/2 the FSB) and raising the FSB to 3.5ghz. I get an error in orthos 3 seconds into it. I am not going any higher on the cpu volts, I should be at 4ghz with 1.36v lol. What should I try now?
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 09:54 PM   #37 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Cannot stay stable!

You can't determine that it should be a 4ghz just because other people have done it w/ 1.36. You either have bad ram,cpu or you need to read up more on ocing instead of asking for all these values to set.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 09:59 PM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Cannot stay stable!

lol your video cut you off, I'm thinking either your board sucks, you got an unlucky e8400, or you got one of those 1 sided Ballistix which is stopping you from OC'ing properly, but see if you can get an RMA on that e8400 or refund it for a q6600 because I thought you got one mostly for the high clocks
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 01:25 AM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Cannot stay stable!

I think its too late to return the e8400... Bought it at microcenter store near me. Wouldn't even let me exchange it for a q6600 3 dayys after I got it, unopened too! Also, if itell them its bad they will test and see ifits fine which it is. And obviously they aren't going to give me another because this 1 won't o.c.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 07:45 PM   #40 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Cannot stay stable!

doesn't that just suck...
I hate the fact that some chips are so great, and some are so... bad
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock randysmashed New Systems | Building and Buying 10 01-21-2008 10:31 PM
Q6600 OC ? How to make it more stable? PRVRT Overclocking and Modding 36 12-25-2007 01:04 PM
E6300 wont even stay stable at 2.1Ghz Oreo Overclocking and Modding 4 07-27-2007 12:00 PM
Why do you stay hear? Kharn Off Topic Discussion 49 05-15-2007 12:28 PM
What makes an OS more stable? Tcm9669 Off Topic Discussion 13 03-26-2007 01:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.