Can someone give me advice on this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2009, 02:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Default Can someone give me advice on this?

Hello guys....

I just bought a Quad core comp and crysis along with it, it ran SOOOO smooth on very high settings at a high resolution...but now that I installed some other games like COD4, CSS and TF2, my FPS is the fail...its kinda sketchy ya know?

anyways I know that these games take up space but i didnt think that they would make this much of a difference....

I'm looking on advice on how to get it (the comp) back how it was

2x 9800GTX+
350GB hard drive
Quad core CPU 9550 or 9950 :\

sorry for the bad grammer it's just im kinda tired... :freak:

thanks for the HELP!

oglscrub4life is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 04:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: Can someone give me advice on this?

How long have you had your computer? Are you sure you don't have
any viruses/malware infecting it? Update drivers/do a clean install of games/maybe u will have to reformat?

newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 06:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Puressence's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 137
Default Re: Can someone give me advice on this?

Also, do you have Norton antivirus or any other Norton software installed? It has caused a lot of people (myself included) problems. I used to like Norton-until it slowed everything down.
Puressence is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 06:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: Can someone give me advice on this?

symantec/norton sux AVG free good (IMHO)
newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 08:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954
Default Re: Can someone give me advice on this?

If it can run Crysis it should devour those other games. While I wouldn't suggest a reformat right off the bat , we definitely need to look at some things.

How much RAM do you have in your computer?

Since you just bought the computer, I doubt that you are having dust problems. it wouldn't hurt to open it up and look, maybe go ahead and blow it out.

What graphics driver are you running (version number)? Since you are running SLI it is very important to use the latest drivers to keep you performance at its peak with new games.

Unless you have really crammed stuff into it, your hard drive shouldn't be full. Check to see how much room it has left. Also along this line, do a defrag. While Windows has a defrag built in, I prefer to use O&O for mine, but the Pro edition is not free. Give Defraggler a shot, or Auslogics Disk Defrag. Both are free.

Go ahead and run a spyware scan or two. Use Malwarebytes Anti-Malware a spin for it.

Double-check your anti-virus. Try Trend Micro HouseCall - Free Online Virus and Spyware Scan - Trend Micro USA for a free online scan with one of the top AV engines.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 08:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Atech66's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N Ohio
Posts: 196
Default Re: Can someone give me advice on this?

Not to get off topic at all here but anyone had Housecall issue's with the new JAVA?
I tried to run it on several systems and it says "not installed" but it is. it only been since the new release.

Core i7 920, MSI X58 Plat. SLI, 6 Gigs Mushkin 1333,
Corsair TX750, Samsung Sata 2 500, VISTA 64 :cool:

UNIVAC: a device, which contained 20,000 vacuum tubes, occupied 1,500 square feet and weighed 40 tons; there was also a laptop version weighing 27 tons.
Atech66 is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 08:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Can someone give me advice on this?

Just hunch. I could be wrong. Let's call it an educated guess.

He has 2gig of ram. When he first got he PC he installed Crysis on a fresh install. Played it with great performance. At the time he didn't have much running in the background. Over time, he installed various things that are now running in the background. Apps, Services... etc...

Now when he plays games, he's playing with less ram available.

Also, he hasn't defragged his HDD in awhile and it's in dire need of it.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 09:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
philbar71's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Can someone give me advice on this?

^ that sounds like the most likely cause.

is this a prebuilt pc?

The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD


<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 09:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: Can someone give me advice on this?

Deffinately look to see what is running in the back ground.

Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need a PC for a home-recording studio - need some advice Santuzzo New Systems | Building and Buying 35 02-02-2009 05:28 PM
Need a little advice before reformatting... Coffee999 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-01-2009 10:57 AM
Advice needed on what motherboard to get for a new PC with a core 2 quad processor Santuzzo New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-28-2009 08:24 PM
Advice needed - choosing new Graphics card Nyllus New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-26-2008 03:16 PM
Upgrade CPU or GPU which will give better performance.. Willeh New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-20-2007 03:13 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.