Can my DD-D5 pump handle it? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2006, 07:52 AM   #21 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

ok, the pump adds a negligible amount of heat to your fluid (it is a result of imparting work to the fluid). it is nothing that you should worry about or account for.
you want your radiator before your reservior because it gives the fluid additional time to cool in the res before being used again. the only advantage that i could see putting the rad before the blocks is that the fluid may be more likely to go turbulent (which is a good thing for heat transfer, a bad thing if you dont have alot of pump head). but it would actually be better for your system for the fluid to go turbulent over the blocks as that is truely where heat removal matters.
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 02:20 PM   #22 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

I am gunna flush my system tonight. Would distilled water be decent to use? I do have a little algae in the system, not sure if i should use alcohol or what
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 03:08 PM   #23 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i would use alcohol or fresh hydrogen peroxide... thats what i use for my hydro-tubing when germs invade... not sure if you pump will like that, but it shouldnt mind since alcohol has a lower viscosity than water and hydrogen peroxide is pretty much water anyways.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 08:44 AM   #24 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

looks like the only part that i am even keeping in this loop is my rad. ordered all the part. so excited..

Loop 1..... Cpu\22wpelt, 3fan rad,pump, DD fillport res
Loop 2..... maze4 gpu\maze4 gpu, 3fan rad, pump, DD fillport
Loop 3..... radeon mosfet cooler, radeon mosfet cooler, 1fan rad, small pump, dont remember which, DD fillport.

stuff isnt in that order, dont know what order i will do yet. Order doesnt really matter that much, the pump dont add that much heat. I will make it in the easiest way to drain.

I know it is overkill, but oh well, its fun
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 09:39 AM   #25 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

ok got the back of the mobo covered with conformant coating(looks like model glue)

it says to put it around the cpu socket... yea... but what about when it hardens.. then you wont be able topen and close the socket lol. I guess i should use silicone here,, at least that will stretch when i open and close the socket
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 10:01 AM   #26 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

yeeeaaaa, that wc system is pretty redonkulous.
are the mosfet coolers for your mobo/n.b.? ram?
you totally could have gotten away with cpu, gpu and the others on one dd5 pump (youve got plenty of head with all those settings) with a 3 fan radiator and a few in line h.s.'s
oh well, balls the the wall and all that.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 11:06 AM   #27 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

the heatsinks are for the radeon mosfets. Will just have regular ram sings on them with a fan, and a fan duct to the bridge mosfets
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 11:17 AM   #28 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

good form old chap
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 10:38 AM   #29 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

After seeing how much power this thing draws... i decided to sell it and my proc WC loop. I ordered a prometia phase change\lian li case. Will use a rad and rad box for my video cards
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 08:10 AM   #30 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i cant keep up w/ u dude, what did you get rid of?
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.