Can I overclock an Itel 805d? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2007, 03:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Can I overclock an Itel 805d?

Hi everyone!

Well, I have never overclocked anything except when I told my friends how fast I went in my 1977 280Z sports car. I wanted to see how fast it went on staight-a-way on highway 104 here in CAL and even though it only went 130 mph, I told my friends 150 mph. [Just don't tell my mom!]

I just finished building my very first computer and it is working nice. I've been reading about this overclocking business and I am not sure if I can overclock my processor with my existing MOBO.

Here is what I put together after waiting over 9 months and reading the various FRY's ads and waiting for their great deals and even free items with rebates.

[I built this entire system for under $350 and no, my shoes do not squeak when I walk, I am just on an incredibly tight budget and don't have any shoes].

It's me, your NANY

NANY = Not A Nerd Yet

My System
Intel 805D [$78]
ESC P4M800PRO-M v.2 [free with 805d]
ThermaTake CPU Fan TR-2-M21-RX [$19]
Microfly clear case $25]
Ultra ATX 500 watt power supply SLi ready [free]
PQI DDR RAM 512+512MB=1GB [$69]
PPA Firewire PCI Card [$15]
e-GeForce 6200 LE APG Video Card 128MB [$29]
Pioneer DVR-710 DVD/CD burner [$25]
Maxtor 120 GB ATA HD-8 MB CACHE [$19]
Maxtor 200 GB SATA HD-8 MB CACHE [$59]
KWorld TV Terminator PCI Card [$20]
Windows XP PRO [free, a friend gave it to me]

Thanks again everyone for helping me to build my very first computer and it really works nice!!! Thanks much!~
__________________

soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 12:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

The Pentium D 805 is known as one of the most overclockable chips available. My only concerns are that your motherboard and RAM are not exactly top notch.
__________________

__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 05:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default

Dex,

Well, you are right, my MOBO and Ram are not top notch...and it is because I am on an extremely tight budget.

Still, I am interested in trying a little overclocking if someone can show me how...

Thanks,

NANY
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

Well, the first thing I would do is go into your BIOS and see if you have the option to increase the FSB. Bump it up 5mhz at a time, and see if it boots into windows. Download a program called Super PI, and run the 1m test. If it fails, go back into bios, and bump up the CPU voltage.

If you need any help, you can contact me on AIM at dexaroni.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.