can i overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2005, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default can i overclock

well, i have cpu-z and looked at my computer specs and this is what i have.

ASUSTEK computer inc.
P4SD-LA

Intel Pentium 4 2.6 GHz
multiplier: x13
512 mb ddr sdram
fsb: 200 MHz
Bus speed: 800 MHz

so my question is if i am able to overclock anything at all, because i looked in the bios and couldnt find anything.

also one more thing, while looking in cpu-z i noticed my voltage was at about 3.0 V, is that normal or is that too high

thanx in advance for any help
__________________

penguin001 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

if your bios doesn't have any options for ocing the cpu or ram then no, you can't oc.there are programs you can download to oc the cpu, but the genereal consensus is that they don't work very well and have very few ocing options.
__________________

jnev_89 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Some programs claim they can OC your processor when you DL em, but they usually don't work.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 01:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

There is not going to be something in the BIOS that says "Change this to overclock" unless your board has that especially. And then even in that case, those things suck and should not be used. You have to do it manually, by upping the FSB and the voltage and changing RAM timings and thigns of that nature. Do some research, you have the internet at your fingertips. Also read the sticky at the top of the overclocking section. Research is your friend... RESEARCH RESEARCH RESEARCH!
Him is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 03:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default

ok thanks for the replies, ill see what i can find
penguin001 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 08:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

defintly find ur temp first... to see how high/low it is... like i wanted to o/c today and my temp is at 65 degrees C so i have to buy a HSF tonight..
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.