Can I OC my Dell... YES!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default Can I OC my Dell... YES!!

Just a simple solder mod

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=69913
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 04:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

If you are up for doing that, than you wouldn't of got a dell in the first place.


It is a nice 1ghz overclock though. How do you increase the voltages?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 04:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
How do you increase the voltages?
I was thinking that too. I don't think you can. So it is pretty amazing to me if its stable at those speeds, but it sounds like it is.

But I agree, I don't think there are many Dell owners willing to try this , but I just found it kind of funny
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Well, they brought up a pretty good point.

Quote:
The point is being able to pay $350 for a loaded system or $650 for a loaded system + 2 17" LCDs and still getting the performance boost, by finding a way to OC. Yah sure you can take the easy way out and buy a mobo for $200+ that will change voltage, fsb, and even multipliers on some chips and have it easy but what would be the fun of that?

For example Dell just had a 9100 you could purchase for around $700 that included:

17" LCD
955 chipset mobo
p4 630
geforce 6800
1 gig ddr2 533 fsb
160 gig SATA HD
DVD burner + more such as WinXP

and for those that want to get a very nice system for $700ish, you can't do better than the above especially considering the 630 will OC to 4 ghz.
That makes perfect sense to me!
Him is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 04:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

pardon my ignorance, but wtf is soldering?
macdawg is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 04:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdawg
pardon my ignorance, but wtf is soldering?
solder is where you have a soldering iron which looks like a pen well some the tip get really hot as hell aand you have a metal wire with you sue both to connect things metal to metal.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 05:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

OMFG, i wouldnt want to put my Soldering Iron and my CPU anywhere near each other!
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 09:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
OMFG, i wouldnt want to put my Soldering Iron and my CPU anywhere near each other!
i've done that sooo many times with various mods of myown....making switches and such...but mainly on my xbox mobo.. not the cpu(but i have done it a few times on my cpu) so, if you know what you're doing then it will all be fine....but heres a tip....keep the girly magazines away while soldering...it keeps the hands steady that way
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 10:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by H4x3r
i've done that sooo many times with various mods of myown....making switches and such...but mainly on my xbox mobo.. not the cpu(but i have done it a few times on my cpu) so, if you know what you're doing then it will all be fine....but heres a tip....keep the girly magazines away while soldering...it keeps the hands steady that way

LMFAO
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 11:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by H4x3r
i've done that sooo many times with various mods of myown....making switches and such...but mainly on my xbox mobo.. not the cpu(but i have done it a few times on my cpu) so, if you know what you're doing then it will all be fine....but heres a tip....keep the girly magazines away while soldering...it keeps the hands steady that way
I would rather solder a cpu than do that damn top d0 on the xbox, man, what b1tch. I did one that way, definately worth taking the mobo out and use the bottom d0
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.