Can I OC with a 650w power supply? - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2008, 02:27 PM   #61 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

cpu-z is real time... hop on aim, i'm going on
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 03:28 PM   #62 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

I'm at work right now bud so I can't! Thanks for your help last night.

Matt, to be honest the guy that is helping me does really know his stuff. He builds computers all the time and does it on the side for income. He use to build servers for the navy(not sure that matters here) . There seems to be a small argument between you guys and him. He thinks I need to stay off forums because he think that OC'ing is going to be different for each computer. Seems true. He said no one knows what type of RAM I have, the amount of volts(?) my RAM requires, he said not every Q6600 is going to OC the same, etc etc.

I went home for lunch and reset back to stock configurations. Restarted and the game that crashed is working fine. No more errors no more problems. My issues had to be OC related. Ever since I OC'ed the computer last night I really never put it under any load. Never ran an app or game or anything. I think the fact I was running that game and a controller put it to the test.

Nos you gonna be around later tonight?
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 03:31 PM   #63 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

yes i am


and sounds like ur friend said exactly what i said to you!!

that cpu's oc differnet and have different capabilities!!! which is why i asked if it was a recently purchased q6600

and as far as ram goes... we would need to know which specific model of ram you have so we could see what its rated for
(example: 2x1 GB Ballistix Tracers Rated 4-4-4-14 1t @ 1.v) don't know if thats true.. lol but that is an example... if you can find out the model we can definitely help

but setting it to ddr800 5-5-5-15 2t 2.0v is pretty much a guarantee for any set of ddr800 ram

and someone who sets up servers and what not is a totally different field than overclocking

i know me few people who specialize in IT and what not... but doesnt mean they know how to take a cpu to 4.0ghz!! lol
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 03:32 PM   #64 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Hey Nos you had the same mobo as me once right? Is that red light suppose to be on all the time? The red light that is some what close to the memory.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 03:32 PM   #65 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

yup, its on all the time, pretty sure its just to let you know the board is receiving power
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 03:34 PM   #66 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

I have a green light on mine...lol.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 03:36 PM   #67 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

I did your settings last night Nos but you lost me on the "5-5-5-15 2t 2.0v" part. I know that is settings for the memory but when I went into the memory settings that 5-5-5-15 was already there. I did not know or see anything about 2t or 2.0v?? You logged off at that point so I was winging it!

I know building servers doesn't mean he knows anything about OC but I know the guy knows his stuff. He just hasnt had the time to sit down and try to OC my computer. He has his OC at 3.6GHz but moved it down for stability. So I think he probably knows a fair amount.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 03:37 PM   #68 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Your friends right... Every setup is different, but the process is the same.

So that's why we ask all the quyestions, you provide answers, we reply with suggestions.

However, you are to take the knowledge and adapt it to YOUR system as it is one of a kind thing.


EDIT

Thats it.......... I'm done piosting..... 1 phone call and 3 posts happen while i reply.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 03:37 PM   #69 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
I have a green light on mine...lol.
The guy that put your LED in probably liked NVIDIA :P
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 03:42 PM   #70 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Your friends right... Every setup is different, but the process is the same.

So that's why we ask all the quyestions, you provide answers, we reply with suggestions.

However, you are to take the knowledge and adapt it to YOUR system as it is one of a kind thing.


EDIT

Thats it.......... I'm done piosting..... 1 phone call and 3 posts happen while i reply.
Yeah I hear you. I appreciate the amount of effort you guys give to someone learning! Can't tell you how many times I questioned him and he knew I was getting my info from a forum so it didn't go over well every time!
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.