Can I OC with a 650w power supply? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2008, 08:37 PM   #41 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Vid s the amount of Volts your cpu needs to boot..... Lower Vs means less heat, and more room to boost the Vcore to be stable.

Check the bios and check to see if the multi is at 9. Set it at 9 if it's not.
Also i read that guide, there is 2 others that might need disabling.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 08:40 PM   #42 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

already checked it..it was at 9.

It's weird. I reset everything back to normal and disabled OC in the bios. I ran the cpuz agian and it is still doing it. It will be at 1700 something and 6x and then it will jump to 2500 something and show 9x. Is anyone would be willing to chat I can do that. Just let me know...don't have anything installed just but will take only a second
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 09:09 PM   #43 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Make sure you also disabled C1E support.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 09:10 PM   #44 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default

OK I will go try that now. LOL I've been waiting for someone to reply! I will report back in just a few moments.

Ok I did not see anything called C1E support. Is this something in the Overclock menu?

I change it back to manual OC. Here is the settings I have changed:

Speedstep: Disabled
Ratio CMOS x9.0
CPU: 290
Retry: 3
FSB (Bsel) 1066 (should I increase this to 1333?)
FSB Compensation Fine Tune: Disabled
DRAM: DDR2 870 MHz
Enchanced Mode: Auto
Memory Test: disbaled

I did not touch anything in: DRAM Timing, Clock Gen, CPU Config, Vlotage Config

CPUZ does the same thing. As I watch the app the core speed jumps from 1700's at x6 to 2500's x9 for a brief moment and back to 1700's.

When I look at 'Computer' on Vista I see this:

Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 10:01 PM   #45 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

C1E and EIST are enhanced speedstep features... they'll probably be in the "Advanced Features" section (im not sure on the BioStar boards)

also, to get a decent OC, you're gonna have to set your performance enhance (i think thats the enhanced mode you've listed there) to normal
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 10:05 PM   #46 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Ok I will look into it. However I want to figure out why cpuz is showing me at 1.7 ghz for a moment and then 2.6 ghz for a blink of an eye and then back to 1.7??
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 10:37 PM   #47 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Its because of speed step and C1E. they change the multiplier of the processor on the fly.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 10:40 PM   #48 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

I'm confused so is this ok? I disbaled speedstep. The C1E I am not sure where that is.

So what I am seeing is perfectly fine or no? Sorry I am just learning how to oc now so I'm very new to all this.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 10:43 PM   #49 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Look for advanced power saving features or something similar.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 11:15 PM   #50 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

I'm not at my desktop right now. But when I get back to it I will look up where the setting is and I will tell you where to go.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.