Can I OC with a 650w power supply? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2008, 08:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

If I were you I would read our Guide to overclocking before you try anything drastic, otherwise you may damage your hardware. Beyond that, if you have any questions feel free to ask. We have many very experienced members here who know a great deal on the subject.

The OC guide can be found here.
Overclocking Basics and Temperature Guide

Its pretty dated (circa 2004) but the same basics apply.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 09:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

I was trying to find that guide, thank you. Bong, my cooler is in my sig (Artic Freezer).

I was hoping someone here had a T Power I45 mobo and a Q6600 and I could maybe share some settings with them?

I did download that CPU-Z thing last night. How do I find/calc what my new GHz is?

I'll read that guide at work today!
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 11:12 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Are you able to overclock in windows instead of going to bios? when I loaded the app that comes with my mobo (T-Power2) there is a "OC Tweaker" function. It allows me to adjust things there. Does this work? Does it require a restart?
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 11:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

NEVER NEVER OC with a program!

Use the bios. That way too, if the OC doeesn't take, a reset saves you.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 04:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Yeah, there are several programs to oc in windows, but that is a bad idea. Always use the BIOS.

You have a very good board for overclocking. The I45 is a champ, the problem I see is that you have an older cooler. You should have invested in a TRUE or a Core Contact Freezer. Also the I45 was designed for the 45nm core2s, the Q6600 is 65nm so you wont be able to use its full potential, but I doubt that is much of an issue. You would need water or phase before you pushed the I45 to its limit.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 04:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

The cooler I got was recommended from here so I just went with it. That other one you mentioned was also recommended. I personally can't see the difference...they all do the same thing right, use the same metals..is there really that much of a difference?

Any way, I'm only wanting to OC up to 3.0 GHz...I think I should be ok right? NosBoost is helping me out with the learning curve on OCing right now.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 04:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

Yes there is a huge difference. There is nothing wrong with the AF7 pro, its just not as good at cooling, but it is also cheaper. There is a big difference between the cooling capabilities of the different heatsinks. Size, number of heatpipes, whether they are direct contact or are lapped, what thermal paste you use, and what fan(s) you use will all determine the cooling.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 04:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

The AC Freezer 7 pro is only a decent cooler for dual cores. The Sunbeam Core Contact, Xigmatek rifle, and True are all better suited to quads.

With the AF7 pro you probably won't be able to overclock much higher than 3.2ghz.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 05:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

We removed the thermal paste that was on the cooler and put some of the stuff my buddy had on there. He said it was expensive stuff....

I will not want to OC my computer over 3.0 so I am ok with it. Thanks for the info. Although, I do wish I knew this ahead of time...I would have went with the other one for safety measures.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 05:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Can I OC with a 650w power supply?

The AF7 pro had MX-2 on it already which is the second best thermal paste. The only one that is better is tuniq TX-2 and it isn't expensive.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.