Can I get any more out of my CPU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2007, 08:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Can I get any more out of my CPU?

Hey everyone, I have an E6420, and I've overclocked it to 2.9 GhZ. I was just wondering: do you think I can get any more out of my processor? I've read that people are getting to the 3.2 range with stock air cooling (which is my case). Here is a CPU-Z Screenie, if that helps.



When running Orthos, I have temps of right around 60* C.
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Default Re: Can I get any more out of my CPU?

i think you overclocked it to 2.900 ghz, dont know too much about overclocking though.
__________________

__________________
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/f...g?t=1189246651
Core 2 Duo E6550 is OC @ 450mhz x7 1800 rated FSB
Memory timings @ 4-4-4-12 450mhz x2 1:1
GeForce 8600GT OC @ 680mhz 850mhz
CPonder14 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 09:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Can I get any more out of my CPU?

Yea, I'm just wondering if I can get any more out of it.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 10:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Can I get any more out of my CPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPonder14 View Post
i think you overclocked it to 2.900 ghz, dont know too much about overclocking though.
2.900=2.9
Nick is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 10:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 47
Default Re: Can I get any more out of my CPU?

lol yeah 2900.0 means 2.9.... to be honest ur probably best leaving it as it is... 2.9 is pretty fast...although if u want try pushing it a bit more ur not going to burn it out most likely the pc will just turn off...but my advice would be to leave as it is until which point u find it laging
xXSN1P3RXx is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 11:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Can I get any more out of my CPU?

If your temps are around 60C at 2.9GHz, you don't have much headroom at all, as you should stay below 60C on load. What motherboard are you using? Those e6420s are capable of 3.2-3.6GHz, with a good motherboard and cooling.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 11:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Can I get any more out of my CPU?

Go for it motoxer! Overclock it a bit more if your temperatures are fine.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Can I get any more out of my CPU?

hold or drop back if as B1gapl said the load temp hits 60
Nick is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 03:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Can I get any more out of my CPU?

Don't push it anymore. If you really want more speed, invest in a good heatsink and thermal paste.

A tuniq or zalman are good if you want to spend some money. Once b1gapl mentioned there are coolers that have mx-1 thermal pads on them. I'd assume it's any one thats made by arctic cooling.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 03:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Can I get any more out of my CPU?

^^good point, tuniq tower if you have room, i dont know how big they are but they look big in pictures, if you know you dont then the Zalman CPNS9500 with some AS5
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.